Full Moon Partyness


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » South-West Thailand » Ko Pha-Ngan
September 28th 2007
Published: September 28th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Hello chappies.

I now find myself hanging about for the England v Tonga game (starts 1.30am) and hence the perfect time to do some internet catch up.

So the Full Moon Party... Yep... it was pretty crazy. Unfortunately for you, I didn't bring my camera, in fact I didn't bring anything with me due to Buckets.

Those of you know what I mean by that will know what I mean, but for the sake of those who don't, the clue is in the title. At the parties (and in most places around here) they serve you alcohol by the bucket, literally. A "bucket" consists of a 250ml bottle of spirits - typically vodka or Sang Song (Thai lethal whisky) and a mixer of your choice - typical M150 (Thai lethal red bull). One will set you back about 200-300 Baht depending on your haggling skills. (About 3-5GBP).

Now given that I had only just arrived on Koh Tao in the morning and had spent the previous night on a coach / hanging around at a port, I hadn't slept properly for quite a while. This plus more than a few buckets = happy times!

It is simply a huge beach party, with all sorts of madness going on. I had a great time, met a whole bunch of people, but found a group of Germans/Swedes to hang around with for the earlier part of the evening (the bit I can remember clearly 😊

I managed to fully adorn myself with suitable rave attire, including, UV paint all over my body, Glow-stick "bunny ears", glow-stick glasses, glow-stick bracelets and necklaces. Funny story about the UV paint (which is fun due to the abundance of blacklights): I bought my first one - some crazy tribal thing all up my leg. That was after one bucket. After the next I haggled another on my arm. I had made friends with the painter man by now and when I saw him later I shared a bucket with him in return for the all-over treatment. 😉

I basically danced/jumped/rolled/swam/hopped my boardshorts off from 6pm until 7am. Nice! After which I got in a taxi to start the long journey home via the most over crowded catamaran I've ever been on! People were passed out everywhere (including me - I passed out in the walkway on the top deck! No one cared though and people just walked over me/lay down next to me! Lol!)

It was absolutely fantastic to come back to Freedom beach resort - the most relaxed place on earth for some nourishment and recuperation hammock style.

Some people didn't have such a good time, including one person I saw fall in some fire and get 2nd degree burns on both his arms (all of the lower side). At first people thought he was joking when he rolled around in the sand, but then he stood up and I'm not kidding when I say his skin was literally hanging off him. He then ran into the water and dived in. It must have hurt like hell. On top of that he had his phone and camera around his kneck so he gets to wake up with a triple combo of busted arms, broken stuff and a killer hangover!

I also met a person who I hung around with for a while, but then lost ... fortunately. I found him again on the boat in the morning - he had been "bottled" in the forehead and was completely drenched in blood!

Not that I wanted to end on a sour note as it was truly awesome! I'd definitely say go at least once, but just don't be a fool. Please note that both these people were rediculously intoxicated at the time!

Anyways, I now have only 2 hours left to kill.... but internet isn't cheap! I've rented a quad-bike to serve as my personal taxi later.

Tomorrow I'm going to explore the island completely in some off-roading Thai style (i.e. absolutely no form of anything related to Health & Safety !

Take care

Loving

x


Advertisement



Tot: 0.088s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 43; dbt: 0.051s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb