Waterfall?


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » South-West Thailand » Ko Pha-Ngan
March 28th 2007
Published: March 28th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Was supposed to check out a beach today, but seeing as I started walking the wrong way and decided to be stubborn and see where it took me, I ended up walking to one of the waterfalls on the island. I walked about 5 miles there and when I got to the bottom, realised that it was a 500m ascent to the summit - I was wearing sandals - oops.

Anyway, it took about 20 minutes or so to get to the viewpoint which was a steady climb to the left of the circular track. There was then the ultimate decision for me. 1) Do I turn back and go back home having seen the base of the waterfall but not much water. 2) Do I carry on around the circular track to the very top and then go bak down the waterfall in the hope of seeing better things. I was already soaked through with sweat as this was inside the jungle. I had to remind myself not to look down around my legs at the multitude of mosquitos swarming around but I decided on crazy option number 2. It took me a good half an hour to get across to the top of the aterfall as the track was not so obvious. I did get some decent pics but ther estill wasn't much water around. The descent was precarious to say the least. I had to hold onto numerous trees in order to climb down. I also had to rely on the straps in my sandals to hold out. At one point, The decent was across some watered rocks which were very slippery. The only choice as to find the safest place to 'slide' down to. It took a good hour to get back down to the bottom and I was able to warn a Fench couple that their chaussures may be a bit lacking like mine. Anyway, when I got back to my room, I was very exhausted.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.082s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0449s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb