Mae Cee and calling the spirits


Advertisement
Published: September 16th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Miles was finally hungry this evening. I asked him if he wanted eggs as I thought they might be healthy and offer some strength. He said yes and I turned around with two in my hand.

Mae Cee was standing at my doorway motioning for me to give her the eggs. I wasn’t sure what to do in response as I hadn’t verbalized Miles’ want for eggs, or spoken a word, looked in the direction of her home across the street or….

It threw me. She just knew…I handed her the eggs and asked if she would cook them for Miles’ as he was sick.

She nodded her head and went back across the street.

I am still a bit shaken from the experience.

She returned a few minutes later with the eggs fried nicely and placed them besides Miles’s napping spot in the main room. He just sort of watched her as she starting talking in Thai about the spirits and his sickness (mild fever).

She learned over and placed her hands on Miles forehead and chanted a few things then learned over and blew really hard with an outward sweeping motion to pull out the bad spirits.

(I think) she told me in Thai that it was because the house still had spirits inside that hadn’t left yet to the spirit house across the street. She also said the sick dog (how she knew???) couldn’t come back again.

She said she was a spirit caller for lack of a better word and had the ability to call and command spirits to help her. A healer of sorts.

After she left she marched down the way and collected an old packing crate which she fastened into a gate for the front porch and told me to give Miles a warm bath and to feed him.

I think its more than a blessing when a culture shares with me some of its most sacred parts.

I followed her instructions (even the ones I didn’t write about) to the greatest extent I could understand them…


Advertisement



16th September 2007

Wow, that's a beautiful story. I hope Miles is feeling better now. Please keep us posted. Love you and Miss you lots.

Tot: 0.093s; Tpl: 0.039s; cc: 6; qc: 23; dbt: 0.033s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb