Grey Days


Advertisement
Published: September 16th 2007
Edit Blog Post

So the “girls” and I are on a mission to find a market not flooded out/rained in or otherwise evacuated for natural disasters. There is a significant lack of market stall shopping going on here due to the weather.

We have found the market shops in the night food market to carry a few neat things…Miles particularity enjoys the plastic toys we would purchase at the dollar store. Marrin finds the trinkets super attractive and keeps asking to buy one plastic purse or another. I can’t wait for dryer weather and BIG markets! I would love to find a mask for my bedroom wall at home.

So far my purchases have been household items…sigh, how boring! I did buy a couple of sarongs and a mop….does that count? I would love to find some VCDs (DVDs) for the kids here and am on the hunt for Thai historical drama movies and maybe a few bootlegged copies of new releases. For now, though I am content to wander where the kids drag me….its interesting how my drive to buy stuff decreases with the frequency of my visits.

Oh…did I mention its raining…again?
I drove the kids home this afternoon and again this evening in plastic garbage bag sheaths…see attached pictures of my lovely model.

It’s incredibly scary trying to hold onto the motocyc handle with one hand while your rain protection billows out behind you obliterating any attempts to use your rear view mirror to prepare for traffic creeping up behind you. Did I mention that when it rains good chunks of the road tend to disappear as the sand flows out from underneath carrying away the foundation?

I also need to take a moment to complain about the aggressive flies and the village dogs that look like they have risen from the dead. They fight each other in the streets and one of them found its way, bleeding and dying onto our porch this afternoon. When we got home I roused it from its near-death sleep and then donned latex gloves from my medicine bag to bleach the back stoop. Britt spent time setting up “gates” of polysterene mats to close off the front and back porches to protect our living space from the dogs seeking refuge from the rains.

I figure there are plenty of empty apartments that they can use the porches of. I prefer mine to remain mange and rabies free thank you.

Oh…I did mention it’s raining again right?......

Tomorrow is Saturday so the kids will be at the orphanage all day. We plan a few impromptu English lessons and have some general fun.





Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Tot: 0.334s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 9; qc: 54; dbt: 0.1892s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb