Lessons


Advertisement
Published: December 7th 2006
Edit Blog Post

MaleenMaleenMaleen

Youngest by a few years....
Excuse me,
Front desk? There are ants in my bathwater….
I finally had a sit down cleansing this evening in a little plastic washing tub that I could sort of almost crouch over. Nice….I didn’t even mind having only cold water. Lol. It is an amazing thing to realize I am comfortable without a few comforts of home.

Today was a good day.

I learned to ride the motorbike with two kids on the back, I managed to find my way back to the internet place with the good connection, and the lady boy at the orphanage carried over a big multi gallon thingy of drinking water so I can make my instant 3-in-1 coffee in the morning!

Sanuk Sanuk (fun fun)

Let’s see….today I am thankful for:
Rain showers and cooler temperatures…oohoo 29 degrees!
Boiled water for coffee (yes, I did figure out I could add a bowlful to my tubby water for a not so cold scrub!)
A motorcycle with automatic gears
Nearby internet
The cool “stuff” market in Takua Pa
An’s hugs around the legs
Miles’ easy nature and playfulness
Red Spy (red wine cooler that I am thoroughly enjoying right now)
Earplugs (for that noisy neighbor who has to hock and spit every morning at about 5 am Ewwwww)
The lady next door who always says to the kids “I love you and I love you” and has no real comprehension of what that means)
Mook (who is the sweetest 13 year old who sneaks me tastes of the kanom-sweet cake)
Being in the land of temple incense
The gecko in the bathroom that always comes out when I have to pee (just to say hello)
…………………………………………………………………………………………..

School Lessons

During a heavy rain shower this afternoon, I hosted a bit of an impromptu English lesson. The kids were doing their schoolwork and Marrin and Miles along side them. I used the picture cards I brought along and had them laid out on the table. Pretty cool.

Within a few minutes I had the attention of about six Thai kids and we started learning terms. Marrin and Miles loved it…helping the kids with pronunciation and they learned the Thai terms. The little one Gam spent the later hours walking around saying “Ling, Monkey, Chang, Eleeephaaan.”

I really see the beauty of these kids sometimes. They are so much just kids and yet when we work on profiles with them and have to ask the hard questions about their trauma, they are so….grown up.
Bow is a 12 year old girl who lost her mother and talks about her and how she dies with such….detachment. Yet you know when she leaves the interview room, she is just a little girl again and really really, needs a hug.
But aside from being here, providing some comfort and taking care of the necessities of life with them…there isn’t any more you can do.

There was a visit today, by a couple of women from Switzerland staying at the Kao Lak Merlin resort down the highway an hour or so. They came in and Rotjhana (the headmistress of the orphanage) introduced me and asked if I could visit with the women for a few minutes. I don’t really know about the goings on or working (political and otherwise) of the foundation or the orphanage, but I could chat with them about the kids individually and their stories a bit.

The women asked me about …well…what I was doing here and basically I said just helping, because I don’t know how else to describe it. There is so much more reason for this time in my life, but maybe not understandable.

They wanted to know much of the same things you do I imagine, so:
The youngest is Maleen, she is 1 ½ and is sponsored through the foundation. Her mother is alive and so is her brother, who is 4. The children (the boy especially) live here pretty much permanently, though Maleen goes home with her mother now and then. Her mother is Nit. She works here as a cleaner in the mornings. She isn’t really a cleaner, but her mental state isn’t stable, as she lost her first born son in the Tsunami and her husband is still missing. She was pregnant with Maleen (just) when the Tsunami hit.

Rotjhana took her in and the kids and pays her 100 baht per day that she works (about 3 dollars). The kids are mostly cared for by the older children here and the staff try to keep Maleen away from her mother, especially when she is crying. Nit can’t stand the crying as she hears her lost son, not Maleen.

Harsh.

Pik (Miles’s friend) stays because he lost his brother, mother and father. He has another brother somewhere and his sister was sold when she was one month old. That happened about a week after the Tsunami. He chose to stay, as some of the older boys have. The foundation pays for their schooling and they have a home, food and care as needed. They are still very independent but all the older boys seem very loyal to the staff and centre. They will be able to obtain trades training if they stay here and assist as needed with things after they turn 15, very soon for Pik.

I cannot go into detail about all of the children (all 27 of them plus a few that may come soon). I don’t know all their stories either, but learn them as I go.

Som has not been her for a few days (my foster daughter) and I found out today, she has gone to visit her Grand Aunt for a bit. I hope she returns soon, I miss her!

The orphanage is in a bit of trouble as far as organizing goes. With the addition of 10 children in the last few weeks, things are not running as smoothly. The other volunteers who are here spent some time today talking with Rotjhana about how to arrange things so the children are better cared for and the responsibility is organized. Think of 27 kids just running with no dedicated supervision!

We are starting a chart tomorrow using the staff who are regular daily workers and the others as back up. Each of the regular staff will take responsibility for five children of a variety of ages; older, middle and younger ages. Each staff will be responsible for all the children’s needs including clothing, washing, schooling (or taking to school as required) and any outings. That staff member will be the go-to person for those kids. This way each is only watching out for five kids, rather than everyone sort of watching out for all 27…or not.

The staff in the evening (after the meal) only consists of one male and one female in the dorms who stay over with the kids. The rest of the staff goes home after the meal, or just before. The older kids are really relied on at this time…I try to stick around too depending on Miles and Marrin…just to help with things like dishes (which I love to do).

Dishwashing duty here includes a series of tubs full of water. One clear water for rinsing, then a scrub tub with soap and two further clear water tubs for rinsing. Makes so much sense and uses so little water in all. Sweeping is actually enjoyable too. One of my trips to Thailand I actually smuggled home two Thai brooms in Stephen’s suit bag, just to have the cool brooms. They work so well!

Anyway…I will tell you more about the kids and the orphanage as I learn. My Thai too! I learned “mosquito”, “good night”, and “sleep right now!”



We did find a cool market in Takua Pa today…after navigating the dangerous road construction and cutting off a huge transport truck…I keep forgetting they drive on the left side of the road here…turns confuse me sometimes!

There were helmets, relax!

Anyway, lots of neat stuff. Marrin and I bought watches (first time for me since I was pregnant with Miles!)

We bought a garbage can (very proud of getting that home on the scooter!) and we found some things for gifts. “D” I found a beautiful sarong for you. Maybe make pillows out of it or something?

We also noted a few other gifts to be picked up in our last week here.

Oh! Marrin and Mile’s received their Thai nicknames today as well. The staff have been working on them for a few days. Marrin is now called Malie, which means Jasmine flower, and Miles is called Buut, which is a type of coconut sweet that has curly strand of coconut all stuck in a round ball. This is a reference to his hair obviously and his round chubby face. The lady boy, Bom, calls him another name I can’t recall which means “everywhere” or something similar. Lol…they feel so good having names like the other kids.

There is Bom, An, Khan, Gam, Bow, In, Nun, Som (orange), Malie (jasmine flower), Pik, Nung (one), Nuun (frog), Poot, Pet, Oo, Ton Mai (tree), and a whole host of others I can’t recall.

Well, that’s lots for now…sorry these are so long, but it’s a way for me to feel connected with you all still. If there is anything specific any of you would like (we like the thrill of looking too!) just send me an email!

Till prong nee,
Ladree sa wad!



Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement



Tot: 0.4s; Tpl: 0.039s; cc: 5; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0796s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb