NYE in a Buddhist monastery


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Northern Thailand
January 6th 2017
Published: January 6th 2017
Edit Blog Post

We knew we had to get out of town during the new year celebrations as the streets were already seething with tourists walking at a crawling pace. It was by a chance encounter sharing lunch with a Californian that we learned of Wat Pa Tham Wua up towards Mae Hong Son. The next day we booked our minibus and were on our way.

Wat Pa Tham Wua, or the forest monastery, hosts anyone willing to spend at least 2 nights and committing to following their schedule of Buddhist style vipassana (as opposed to Goenke style). The only rules are: show up to all events on the daily schedule, men and women can't touch or stay in the same bungalow, and no smoking/drinking. Even the meditations are Mickey Mouse: 1 hour walking through the lush grounds then 30 minutes sitting and laying down each. Pretty easy.

I stayed for 6 nights, orion for 8, but I did almost quit after just 3. I suck at meditating, at sitting still with my chattering mind. I get really frustrated with bad teaching techniques, even if it's just due to language barriers. So I had a hard time. Eventually though I chose to fake it til I make it and shifted my attitude. I also created myself a new meditation style called Free-Range meditation, but more on that another time or at www.YogiGiGi.com. I'm so glad I stayed because while my meditation skills didn't improve, I got to learn more about my tendencies when I'm feeling incapable and ultimately left the monastery able to recommend it. Even if you are just going to enjoy the gardens, forest, 2 meals (no dinner) and a private kuti all for free, it's worth it. Oh! And the Abbott is the most highly person ever. I didn't understand much of what he said but I think it was just "happy" in various phrasings.

When I returned to Pai it felt like starting a vacation. I treated myself to a private bungalow at Pai Modern House out in the rice paddies for 380 THB ($11) a night. Since it was raining every day, I spent most of my time lounging in the hammock on my porch watching the mist dance in and out and over the mountains. I'm now reading Atop An Underwood, a collection of early Kerouac writings gifted to me by a great soul I met in Pai. I've also upped my collection to 3 journals, which I switch between continuously. I'm insane, i know.

Now I'm in Chiang mai and saying "see you soon" again. I feel just as unfinished as I had 2 years ago. Still so many things to eat, massages to study, and small streets to explore. I'm thankful to Bodhi Tree for giving me the opportunity to teach and I have no doubt I could come make a life here. I'm grateful that I got to experience Pai for over a week so I could really settle into the slow, laid back essence of it. I successfully drove a Scooty and feel like champion of the world (but I'm not going to push it).

I thought thailand would be a place of study, but it ended up being more about relaxing. I've also decided I want to write a confessional book, even though I have no clue how. It's more for me anyway. Another bittersweet goodbye as we move on to Singapore and Bali. Then home...

I'm not ready.



Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement



Tot: 0.075s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 30; dbt: 0.036s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb