The BRA situation...


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Northern Thailand
May 12th 2006
Published: May 12th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Rasi Salai SceneryRasi Salai SceneryRasi Salai Scenery

A view of "Moon River" - the source of life for all of the people in NE Thailand
Things are getting better here. I do have one problem though... everytime I go to Thailand I loose one of my bras in the first couple of days that I get here! Don't get me wrong, I don't loose them in some kind of crazy "girls gone wild" kind of way... they just disappear! And this time I only brought two bras with me to Thailand, so now I'm down to one. Here's a little recap of the situation:

Day 1: I sent some dirty clothes (including some ginches and my bra) to the laundry shop. No big deal, right? When I was here last time they laundried everything!

Day 2: I get my clothes back, minus underwear and bra. Ooookay, maybe I misplaced it.

Day 3: I put my laundry in a basket to be laundried, and at breakfast, my host mother brings the basket outside to the table in the garden (where we eat) and hands me a bunch of my thongs and other unmentionables to me. She kindly explained (in front of the whole extended family) that it is Thai culture to wash your own underwear, and to only send shirts and pants and skirts
One of the thousands of templesOne of the thousands of templesOne of the thousands of temples

Even though Rasi Salai is a small village they have at least 4 of these
to the laundry store. I thought to myself "OK, well, then what is the point?", and kindly nodded in humilation. I guess here all of the problems are brought up in front of the whole family, and there is no such thing as pulling someone aside...

Today: Bra is still missing in action, so I asked my host mom when we were shopping if I could look at the bras. She AND Pa-Song came with me to the lingerie dept. and they watched me check out the different kinds. It was quite embarassing. And to top it all off they were all too small and they didn't have any sportsbras - just super lacy padded pushups. :S

So I guess what I am saying is that is anyone wants to post me a new one feel free!!! It will be much appreciated!

Other than THAT situation, things here are looking up. I have been to three Thai weddings so far and I am attending another one tommorow. The kids I teach at the school are very sweet, and I think they are finally beginning to warm up to the "forgeiner".

Another good thing about this place is that everyone calls me "beautiful"! I don't see how they can say that, as I am usually drenched in sweat and beet red from the heat, but I'll take what I can get! I have also been close to being married off a couple of times... It's funny to see the people get a little twinkle in their eye when I say that I don't have a boyfriend. Then for some reason I am introduced to lines and lines of eligible bachelors. It sure is something.

The food here is good... like I said before, my policy is to eat whatever is in front of me and don't even ask. I don't even think about what is might be anymore b/c usually I don't even want to know. You see, I'm not a big seafood fan, but I have eaten more seafood in past past week than I'm sure my whole family has in thier whole lives. Another thing traditional Thais don't eat is carbs... I'm already loosing weight b/c it's like I'm on Atkins!

I'll be sure to gain it all back though when I get to BKK. The sugar-cravings have already started. Sometimes they are
The villageThe villageThe village

From the roof of one of the director's houses.
really bad... and I think right now it will only get worse. I keep myself going by thinking about pulling in to BKK and going stright to Starbucks or Dairy Queen for a super chocolate-y and whipped cream shake. Mmmmmmm... I'm drooling on the keyboard already!

I'm a bit tired right now, so I will post more about all my crazy experiences later. Here are some pics to tide you over, though!

Love and miss you all!

Raylene


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

For my DadFor my Dad
For my Dad

He likes to see how stuff is built. I think they are making a new temple, or a monk's residence here.


12th May 2006

I'll bring the bra.....
Okay, that's it, I told you once before I was going there, and now? I am, bra in hand and all!! What size are you?! I'll have the bra in one hand and how about a triple chocolate cheesecake (on ice, of course) in the other...how'll that tie you over?! Anyways, beautiful pictures, look superb!! I'm headin' there, when Craig and I get married..... uhhhh, yeah, oooookay..... well, have fun, don't stray, drink only as much as you can handle, and for God's sakes!! DON'T tell your dad how much you're suckin' back, he'll be on the next plane! Okay, I gotta jet, take care, Rah-lene! Love ya! -S.
12th May 2006

Concerning Thai Rivers...
Hello there. Good to hear that you are having a good time in Thailand! Weird stuff about the underwear...a total clash of cultural values I guess. Oh well...they'd probably be lining up to steal my underwear too I guess 'cause I'm so famous. Don't forget to save some change for me so I can have it when you get back...nickels, dimes...whatever is good, I will gladly accept any currency...even leftover hundreds and fifties, etc. I sent my bud Kevin your blog address so he might send a message along too to say hi 'cause he's there as well. I like the picture of the river, are those rice fields? (I've never seen one I don't think...in pictures anyways). Cheers mang. Ciao. Brock 'n Roll ciao.
16th May 2006

check your email
Hey Raylene, Awesome pics and blog. Read my email, and I'll send you a bra. A real cool-looking one that you can wash in main street for everyone to see! love, Cassie

Tot: 0.132s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 55; dbt: 0.0626s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb