MY FINAL DAYS AT THUNG FON


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Northern Thailand
October 24th 2007
Published: October 25th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Wednesday 24th October - Well, this my second to last day here in Thung Fon and it is going to be so very hard to leave these wonderful people and the kids. Today, I spent almost the entire day trying to sort out my belongings. Think I am going to be coming home with the excess baggage I came with. I have even sent 13 kgs. back through the post.
Thursday 25th October - Today is my last day with the children, Gee and Beer (the two Thai teachers) who have been fantastic with Jon and I. They are really dedicated to the children here and are loved by them. Managed to do the majority of my packing and then it was the difficult part of saying my final farewells to the children and it was very emotional. I had a raffle of a bear and Mon won that and then I had a boy and girl lucky dip of a little gift to each one. They were very excited.
Each day the children are ferried home in two runs and it was time to say goodbye and one girl especially, Nok really helped me with the tears as she was absolutely sobbing and hugging me saying, "I love Brenda and will not forget". Oh dear! She was a bit older than most and as quite a help with interpreting for me on many occasion. There was only one little girl, Nan who was quite clingy too. Same thing - she loved Brenda and wasn't going to forget me and gave me a little bear. I ended up dinkying her on the bike up to the photo shop to get some photos printed for her and Nok and then took her home but not before long she was in my room. Very hard. After dinner did some photo sorting did my final pack and then Jon and I had a chat and off to bed at a reasonable time as up early in the morning.
Friday 26th October. You have guessed it - was quite emotional leaving Wikkanet as this place is called. More tears and final goodbye to Tim and Troo who have been abolutely beautiful to me. Tim is always bringing in a drink or some treat most days. It was in the car at 7.00 with Kietnarong and Jon as they drove me to Udon Thani and more tears. Oh my goodness. Then it was onto the bus heading for the border into Laos.
The time here has been absolutely amazing and I will never forget my time and the new found experiences of dabbling in the world of "teaching English".
So that is the end of my time in Thailand and I vow that I will return.

These are the words I penned to sing at the English Camp - Very simple as the majority of parents could not speak or understand English.

I LOVE YOUR THAILAND
I came from Australia A place far away To be here with you - To teach and to play
I love the huge smiles On all of your faces People are so happy As I go many places
I wish you good luck In all that you do I'll keep happy memories "Till I return to you.
YES I LOVE YOUR THAILAND BE PROUD AND TALL
YES I LOVE YOUR THAILAND I LOVE YOU ALL



Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement

nearly to the endnearly to the end
nearly to the end

Kids getting set to leave for their various homes
Nan and MeNan and Me
Nan and Me

Nan was my last goodbye
Last Farewell At Thung FonLast Farewell At Thung Fon
Last Farewell At Thung Fon

Saying my final farewells to Troo and Tim before leaving for Udon Thani


Tot: 0.125s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0562s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb