I thought Thailand was safe...


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Northern Thailand » Chiang Khong
September 20th 2006
Published: October 4th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Ok...So I thought Thailand would be safer or at least calmer than Cambodia. However, I had quite a few eventful days my last few days in Thailand. Two major events occurred.

1. Coup in Bangkok the second day I was there.

2. Loosing and finding my passport.

So I arrived back in Bangkok and some of the girls I met in Siem Reap let me crash at there place because we got back really late. After weeks of scummy guesthouses and shared showers, it felt like a palace. It´s amazing what a good nights sleep and a warm shower will do!

I left there apartment and set out to discover Bangkok´s Backpacker haven of Koh San Road. Before I even got into a cab I met two other people heading that direction, and we were off to the next adventure. I quickly found a place to stay for under $5.00 a night and in the process met another single female traveler, so the four of us were off to discover the adventures of Bangkok. We visited the famous flower market which took up numerous blocks and sold an amazing aray of flowers. I was especially amazed by
RelaxingRelaxingRelaxing

Damn the buckets!!!!!!!!!
the colors and abundance of orchids that could be purchased for under $3.00. I was thinking about you Traci.

The afternoon was spent exploring the markets, and attending the famous Mui Thai fights. The fights were quite an experience with the betters throwing money around and screaming at the bookies. It was an experience not to be missed. Towards the end of the evening people started leaving the fight, which seemed odd because it wasn´t over. However, we followed the travelers saying, "do what the locals do," and made our way home. As soon as Betina and I arrived back at the Koh San we relized something was going. The street that is normally alive until the early morning was deserted, except for one cafe with people crowded around the TV. Once entering the cafe the headline made everything clear.

CNN News -Armed Forces Take over PM´s office in Bangkok. Coup.

OK, so that´s what´s going on. Better call mom and let her know before she turns on the morning news. As expected she told me to grab what I could an RUN to the Embassy. Well needless to say, I had another plan. Leave it to me, I decided to escape to Southern Thailand and continue the party!

And party we did!

The next three days were filled with hanging out in little huts right on the beach, laying in the sun or running from the rain, enjoying crazy beer and buckets. Yes I had the famous Thailand buckets.

Recipe:
1 bottle Sam Song Whiskey
1 bottle real Red Bull
1 bottle Coke

=lost passport.

Damn the buckets.

The next morning, I woke up and realized that after my late night swim I forgot to pick up my money belt with my passport in it. After calling my mom to help me find out what to do I went searching the beach pleading with the staff of all the restraunts to return my passport. After resigning myself to hurrying back to Bangkok and getting a new passport before my Monday morning flight, I went for one more walk down the beach. Thats when my phone rang and the receptionist told me they had my passport. While most the money was gone (about $50.00) I had my passport back. What a relief!!!!!!!!!!! So I went back into relaxation mode, and spent the afternoon touring the nearby islands. The following morning I got a ride back to the ferry and I headed back to Bangkok.

I spent the next day buying souvenirs, learning to ride the public bus, and enjoying my last few hours in Thailand. Early Monday morning I was off to the airport and on my way back to the western world and London. While I was excited to be meeting my Dad in London, I felt very sad that I was leaving South East Asia. The experiences and growth I had were amazing and I can´t wait to return again!!!









Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



Tot: 0.063s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.037s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb