I Heart Chiang Khong


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Northern Thailand » Chiang Khong
September 1st 2007
Published: September 5th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Sunrise on the Mekong RiverSunrise on the Mekong RiverSunrise on the Mekong River

Almost worth getting up early for.
After visiting the amazing Wat Rong Khun, we drove on, eventually arriving in Chiang Khong, to a darling little guesthouse which overlooks the Mekong River, with Laos clearly visible on the other side. With an afternoon of free time, I went walking around the street, then browsing the food being sold on the side of the street. I came across some interesting things. Eels, which were still slithering around in their bucket- I saw one manage to escape into the crab net before being recaptured and replaced. Dead squirrels... something that looks like roadkill for dinner, yum yum. Something that looked like a beehive, but was really full of grubs. It goes on...

I had gotten it in my head that something a lady was selling was bamboo sticky rice, which I had had the day I went elephant trekking and found absolutely divine. In retrospect this might have been largely due to the fact that it served the purpose of settling my stomach after a very queasy ride.

But anyway, the woman was only selling them in bunches of 6, for 10 baht, which I thought was amazingly cheap, but figured I could either save most of them
A Monkey...A Monkey...A Monkey...

Oh yeh, did I forget to mention? Our guesthouse had a pet monkey. It was agro. I would be too if I was in a cage.
for the boat ride the next day, and share them around. Trying to open them proved that what I had bought was not in fact bamboo sticky rice, it was just plain bamboo, used for cooking. So I gave it to the cook when I got back to the guesthouse and she added it to my green curry for me. She laughed when I gave it to her. Every Thai person who saw me with it were tending to get the giggles. I think it was just blatantly obvious that I was the ignorant Westerner who had just bought something I had absolutely no use for.

Anyway, back to the roadisde food, after a bit of sampling of fruits and such, I eventually came across a place that was really selling sticky rice. I bought it, because I was most definitely now in the mood for it. It was good. Unfortunately it went quite a bit of the way to spoiling my appetite for the banquet dinner we had that night. Oh well, I still managed to fit in enough green curry, omlet and noodle soup to satisfy me.

Next morning we got up nice and early, so I got to watch a bit of the sunrise on the Mekong River. Then a quick trip to get stamped out of Thailand, a trudge through some mud to get on a boat, and across the Mekong River to Laos...

P.S. I think you need a good imagination for this particular blog entry, because as you can see, nothing much happened, and I stupidly didn't take pictures of the roadside food. But, when you think about it, do you really want to see a picture of a dead sqirrel? Didn't think so.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.124s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0573s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb