The Old City


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » North-West Thailand » Sukhothai
August 12th 2006
Published: August 22nd 2006
Edit Blog Post

Sukothai was a chance to see more temple ruins which I preferred to Ayuthaya. The old city is about 12 km out of town and most of the temples are set in the Sukothai Historical Park which is beautiful, nicely set out and has been well preserved. I rented a bike again and really enjoyed venturing round the park and taking photos. I even went outside of the park to explore the temples surrounding the area and managed to get away from most of the tourists which was nice. It was there that I randomly bumped into Sophie and Laetitia again and so had the afternoon with them. Sukothai is well worth the trip if you ever come to Thailand...


Additional photos below
Photos: 22, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

The English LessonThe English Lesson
The English Lesson

These girls wanted to practice their English so I had a bit of time going over their homework with them.
Buddha ProfileBuddha Profile
Buddha Profile

The noses on these Buddhas were much more prominent than others I've seen
Buddha Holding BuddhaBuddha Holding Buddha
Buddha Holding Buddha

At Wat Mae Chon
Wat Phra Phai LuangWat Phra Phai Luang
Wat Phra Phai Luang

The ruins here reminded me of chess pieces. This place was really eerie, out in the middle of nowhere and I was there on my own. I had a strange feeling about it and the closer I got to the central stuppha, I noticed a number of dead pigeons on the ground. It was only walking back that I saw they were headless which I assume is associated with some sort of sacrifice or religious ceremony.
Vogue CigarettesVogue Cigarettes
Vogue Cigarettes

Sophie and Laetitia
At the bus station againAt the bus station again
At the bus station again

Sophie, Laetitia and Jason: on our way to Chiang Mai


Tot: 0.246s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 25; qc: 107; dbt: 0.137s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb