Bankok - Sukhothai


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » North-West Thailand » Sukhothai
May 8th 2007
Published: May 8th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Today I got up late again!

Wasnt sure what I should be doing, but I felt like starting my journey up north towards Chang Mai. But first I will be stopping at Sukhothai to check out the beautiful ruins of Thailands (then Siam) most impressive ancient city.

So I reserved a bed at a guest house there (took me 30 min and some help from reception to work out how to use the darn phone system here) then had brunch.

Later I checked out and after a bit of bartering I found a cheap taxi ride to the Bus station. There I got my bus ticket and then started my six hour bus journey to Sukhothai. The bus was very comfortable (a little clinical) with air conditioning. This was surprisingly 2nd class so god knows what 1st and VIP is like!

The ride was easy and before long I arrived to New Sukhothai (4km away from the ancient city and a bit of a one horse town) at sun down. There I hoped on to a tuk tuk (one of the ones where the passangers site in the front, which made me lurch forward everytime the driver breaked.) Then checked into the hostel.

It was very muggy and it was dinner time!

I went down to the local Night market to find some food but was completely overwelmed by the bugs and moseys. Hell one even stung me! It was hurendous. large Bugs were getting stuck in your hair and were generally landing and crawling all over you! So I retreated and found a small cafe run by (I assumed) a gay Belgium couple.

After dinner I headed back to the guest house then went to bed.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.2s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 20; qc: 84; dbt: 0.1546s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb