Municipal market


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » North-West Thailand » Mae Sot
November 12th 2008
Published: November 19th 2008
Edit Blog Post

This Municipal Market is located right next to my work. I have to weave and dodge through the traffic each morning, not to mention cope with the assortment of smells. At the beginning it used to make my stomach churn, especially the smell of the meat, but I have now mastered the art of breathing through my mouth and not nose as I ride through the market.

I have had many near collisions with traffic being quite erratic and coming from all directions. Often I have to walk my bike through as it gets me there faster. At least I have fresh fruit and vegetables right there at my disposal and what is sold makes for great viewing as I ride past.

I originally thought the turtles, sparrows and eels were sold for consumption but I was told by the locals that they are bought to be set free. It is good karma, if you let them go, good things may come to you, it is like buying good fortune or luck. Seeing the chicken, pig heads and animal parts definitely makes me never want to eat meat again, not that I needed any encouragement!



Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement



Tot: 0.093s; Tpl: 0.019s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0498s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb