Bangkok to Mae Sai (con't)


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » North-West Thailand » Mae Sai
September 28th 2007
Published: September 28th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Hua Lumphong hadn't changed much. I bought some corn fritters from the same station cart as usual ... one of these times I'll have to try her "Corn In A Cup" - looks exciting! Upon arrival at my First Class cabin, I foune one man and three women already occupying it. The man excused their presence and did his best to ask in English if I would be willing to accomodate switching berths. This was done while struggling through what I believe was a Norweigan accent.

I settled into my new berth, the cabin to be shared with a timid Asian man who I concluded to be of Chinese heritage based on the printing of the magazine he was reading. It appeared I traded an upper berth to the Norweigan for a lower berth with the Chinese man. Things were definately improving. The train was rolling and I was settling into the first part of my travels.

Will Howe & I had struck up a conversation while at LAX in the rediculously long check-in line for EVA Air. We were cued up all the way out to the curb when we began exchanging pleasantries. He was intrigued by the idea that I would be spending time in the north of Thailand in an effort to help the girls in the shelter. We also connected over a friend of his who would be entering Betty Ford Center after a solid 40 years of alcoholic drinking. I practically boasted to Will that I would be headed to Chaing Mai by overnight train and then by bus to Chaing Rai and another bus to Mae Sai. He was impressed with my fortitude. "It's really the best way to experience the culture" I bragged. Little did I expect what was to follow.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.074s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0471s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb