East Bound and Down - Tha Ton, Thailand


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » North-West Thailand » Mae Ai
February 25th 2017
Published: March 1st 2017
Edit Blog Post

Tha Ton is one of those places where you just show up and everything seems to work out in your favor. Situated on the banks of the Kok River just shy of the Burmese border, it is a sleepy town of fisherman, Wats, guesthouses, and one of the most fiery sunsets I've yet seen (due to the rice burning harvest of the season). Showing up from Chang Mai after a four hour bus ride I was met at the terminal by a friendly Thai who asked me if I needed a room. Always this is sketchy, but the guy had the nicest smile and a friendly energy about him and he offered a good price ($180b). I accepted the ride to the accommodation and we talked about the things to do in the surrounding area. I love it when a plan, or lack thereof, comes together.

After getting some information from the guesthouse I agreed to rent a moto to tour the surrounding mountains of the area. My destination was Doi Ang Khang, which is a mountain national park again situated near the border of Burma. In the national park is the Ang Khang Royal Agricultural Station. This communal farming station was established by the King to teach the hilltribe villagers how to incorporate sustainable and eco-tourism practices into their lands here high in the mountains of Northern Thailand. The park has vast fields of flowers, fruit orchards (apples, pears, tangerines) and even a bonsai forest. I feel the real reason of this place is to just get the villagers to not grow poppies which is used for opium. I was indeed in the Golden Triangle region. Nonetheless, it's a lot cooler than you would think and the ride up the mountain on my moto was spectacular. If the rental company knew I was taking their brand new scooter up here they probably would not have let me go. And if I told them I came here they would have voided the rental contract and charged me money. I did not care. I had the wind in my face and the sun on my shoulders as I ascended the sharp curves of the winding road. I was loving it, all 125c.c.'s of it.

Loving the ride so much I continued on all the way to the border of Thailand and Burma. I looked over the gates and saw the reclusive country for the first time a stones throw away. I wanted so bad to go there, away from the tourist areas. I wanted to drink with the men working in the village and I wanted to talk with the old ladies in the strange clothing I've never seen. Yes it is possible to go to Burma but only too certain portions of the country. It is not possible for a foreigner to go to where I was. This was the first time in my life where I have not been able to cross a border. Damn humanity and our weaknesses.

After just a totally unexpected and awesome day I headed back the 50km to Tha Ton where my guesthouse informed me that I could hop onto a private boat down the Kok River heading East five hours to Chang Rai the next morning. Chang Rai is South of the triple frontier of Laos, Burma, and Thailand. Since I was making my way to Laos, I of course jumped at the opportunity and for $300b, the price was right. What can I say? The ride down the Kok River was awesome and the fact that it fell into my lap was even better. I continued eastbound and arrived into Chang Rai. I walked from the docks looking for a place to stay and was sorted to the tune of $180b in no time.


Additional photos below
Photos: 24, Displayed: 24


Advertisement

borderborder
border

The Thai soldiers told me if I continued past the checkpoint I would be shot by the Burmese. Don't know if their was truth to that or not, but obviously I was not going to test it.


Tot: 0.157s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 29; qc: 104; dbt: 0.1077s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb