My Thai Experience So Far


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » North-West Thailand » Lampang
February 4th 2007
Published: February 4th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Well, as I have said in personal e-mails, the chronic pain issue has reared its ugly head but yesterday, I found a Thai massage therapist who did both foot reflexology and Thai massage. After a 1 1/2 hour treatment - which I must say, was very painful - I had more range of movement and felt less pain in the trigger spots. Last night, was the best sleep yet and for 200 Baht or about $7 CD, I will go back today for another treatment.
Although the pain is restricting and colouring my impressions and experiences, I have managed to reflect some on my trip so far:
Language: the Thai script is VERY confusing and according to my Lonely Planet guide, there are 44 consonants and 48 vowel and dipthong with 32 separate signs or script. So far, I have managed to learn just 'hello' "saw-wat-dii kha" (can't write in the accents) and 'thank you' "khawp-khun-kha." As a woman, I add the "kha' to 'thank you' etc. but if I was a man, I would add 'khrap'. The Thai people I have met, are very friendly, and strangers will nod and smile. A 'saw-wat-dii kha- will always bring forth a smile, a nod, a returned greeting and sometimes, even a 'wai' which is the palms-together Thai greeting.
The Bath: the common Thai toilet is level with the floor or raised on a pedestal - there is a placement for feet and you just squat. Try doing THAT with stiff hips, ha ha. Toilet paper is not used as Westerners do, but rather, there is always a hose with sprayer to use, somewhat like a bidet but hand-held. Usually, unless it is a western flush toilet, (still don't use TP), there is a large pail or crock jar full of water and a dipper to use to pour water into the toilet for flusing. Even some Western toilets don't flush, so you have to hand flush with dipper. For someone who grew up without indoor plumbing, this hasn't been an issue, but I imagine for the more sqeamish, it would take some getting used to.
Coffee: Often, coffee means instant Nescafe, which my friends know I don't like! But in a deprived coffee state, I will drink it! This usually includes dry 'CoffeeMate'.
I am noticing more Western coffee bars: yes, the Seattle Latte has hit here in Thailand! Black coffee will come with a creamer of evaporated milk or dry CoffeeMate. This morning, I enjoyed a wonderful latte made with great coffee beans for 30 Baht which is slightly less than $1 CD.
The Beds: most mattresses are VERY firm and are made from coconut husks. I have made a softer bed from moss and thermarest on my Yukon camping trips! So these hard beds are playing havoc with my unique physical status. I brought along a thin air mattress but it isn't working as well as I had hoped.
The spring mattress at the current guest house is a step up but again, the covering is a very thin padding. Even at an upscale hotel on my first night here, the mattress was rock-hard. I did have TV but if you gave me a choice between softer mattress and no TV, the choice is obvious!
The bath: I have yet to see a bathtub .... mostly cold showers with hand held sprayer. The last two guest houses have had hot water which comes from a small wall unit which heats up the water as it is used. This morning it was 16C in my room so I had a quick shower.
Spirit Houses: many homes and even large hotels have a structure in the yard which looks somewhat like an ornate doll house on tall legs. This shrine is near the edge of the property and the household inhabitants will offer daily offering of food, water, flowers, etc to the guardian spirits.
Domestic Pets: Lots of them!!! Usually not neutered and lots of pregnant and nursing dogs! The cats all seem to be of the Siamese variety, very skinny and very skittish. The dogs are of several varieties and I often notice favourite ones dressed up in human tee shirts! Also lots of dog with the mange.
Monks and Nuns: it is the custom for monks who are dressed in ochre coloured robes and have shaved heads, to go around early in the morning to homes and business to recieve offerings or alms of food. It is not appropriate for a woman to touch a monk and if she is offering food to the monk, she must place it in a basket that he carries.
Nuns are dressed in white and there are far fewer than monks. They do not have the same status as monks, and in a Thai household, it is an honour when the son becomes a monk. Yesterday, while walking, a procession drove past me, with a monk sitting on a throne in the back of the truck, lots of flowers, music and many followers. I have read that this is the celebration of the son going into the monkhood.
Thai Massage: well, first of all, it isn't a gentle feel-good 'swedish massage' but it works. I have had 4 to date: the first by a one year graduate and it was un-inspiring. The next two were given by a Thai man on Ko Chang. They some of the results I was looking for ie. increased range of motion, and some pain relieft of trigger/tender points. The cost for a two hours massage was 250 Baht (about 31 Baht to CD) The fourth massage was yesterday and although the most painful, it achieved to best results.
I will stay a few more days here in Lam Pang before taking the 2 hour bus trip to Chian Mai, a much larger city in the north west.
Cheers from Lam Pang!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.161s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0969s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb