Three is the magic number


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » North-West Thailand » Chiang Rai
February 26th 2013
Published: February 26th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Feb 19th, Three is the magic number

What a beautiful end to a beautiful city and positive start to an incredible journey. Last night we made it safely back to Chiang Mai where we got to have a farewell dinner with Beckah and a few of her close friends at a Burmese restaurant. The food was so delicious and sooooo spicy. I found out later that Beckah told them to kick it up a notch. Needless to say we were sweating after the first bite, 2 bottles of water later I was more than satisfied! What a treat.

The next morning went just as smoothly as the last. We were able to grab some breakfast before getting in a van that picked us up from our hostel. Our all inclusive package includes transportation to the border of Laos, a 2 day boat ride down the Mekong river to Laung Prabang, including accommodations and meals for 2,000 baht ($66 USD). A three-day excursion where I don’t have to think or plan anything, but just enjoy the ride and that I am. Today consisted of driving mainly, all the way to the boarder. We have yet to cross but we did get the best seats in the van right under the AC. Which was nice for my queesy stomach so I was happy, but not so nice for the other 7 people in the back including the baby who got sick repeatedly. Poor thing, it broke my heart but he was a trooper.

To be honest I have no idea what town we are in but it’s all apart of the adventure. Our room with 3 twin beds in it is probably the biggest in this dormitory hostel. Dinner was provided in a small cafeteria and was exactly what I was craving, simple, sautéed veggies and white rice. After a long evening stroll around town we have retired to our bright pastel blue room.

Those who know me well know I have an obsession with things that light up so I was elated when I found a street vendor in Chiang Mai selling some of the coolest toys I've ever seen. I knew these would be a big hit with the local children and sure enough I was right. Particularly an LED sling shot that helicopterd on its way down from the sky. They hostel owners daughter thought we were the bees knees so between that and being able to speak enough Thai to hold a conversation the owner gave us a great exchange rate along with some great pointers for our trip. That’s what its all about, being grateful, and making an effort will get you so far with the locals, its easy if you try and smile! On the way we stopped at a site called the “White Temple”. Hands down the most beautiful man made creation I have ever seen with my own two eyes. The man responsible for this work is a geniouse and has created many temples in Thailand but this one is by far the most unique. We were only allowed a 15 min. stop so I wasn’t able to gather a ton of information. The theme was surprisingly dark. When you entered there are statues of hands coming up from the ground as if from hell, along with skeletons hanging from the trees. The inside was a no photo zone. The walls were covered in murals of a mix between Buddist history and generations of pop culture. It was breath taking to say the least. Definitely a high light of our trip so far. Cant wait to get on the on the boat tomorrow. Jake, Beckah and I make a pretty great team.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.066s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 15; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0279s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb