hill tribe doctor


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » North-West Thailand » Chiang Rai
February 22nd 2005
Published: February 22nd 2005
Edit Blog Post

Here I am again!

This time I am in Chiang- Rai in northern Thailand, having made my way up from Chiang- Rai. I arrived yesterday evening, and instantly found some new friends, one English fella, and an American girl. The Englishman is a bit of a pain, but the American girl is really nice, and we ended up having breakfast this morning.

So far I like Chiang- Rai because it is a fairly quiet place, and not so stressful. Will have a look around town today, and I might sign up for a trek later on. There is a programme where you can follow a doctor around for 4 days to a month as he goes to the different hill tribes. I think this sounds fascinating, but it might take a while to get a hold of this guy, as he is in the middle of the jungle most of the time. This, to me, seems like a better idea, as you get to see what life in the tribes are really like. It doesn't cost anything, apart from food, and it is less commersialised than your average trek. Don't know if I would really like to go on a trek where you ride an elephant for 2 hours- heard it gives you a sore bum, haha! See link below for more info
Will see what happens, and keep you updated.

When I was in Chiang- Mai I did a one day tour to the Karen longneck tribes in the Golden Triangle. Fascinating to see how they live, but it felt very touristic and I think these people thrive on tourism for a living! A bit sad to see, but I guess that's the way they live their life!

I also did a one day cooking course where I learnt how to cook Thai food. It is very popular to do in Chiang- Mai, and I can understand why- it was brilliant!!! I don't think I have ever eaten as much in a day as I did, but now I am a master in Thai cooking, hehe!

For now, I bid you farewell!
x Eva


Advertisement



Tot: 0.079s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 9; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0348s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb