Day Nine: Chiang Rai


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » North-West Thailand » Chiang Rai
November 19th 2005
Published: November 30th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Temple in Chiang RaiTemple in Chiang RaiTemple in Chiang Rai

I can't remember which temple this was, but it was another gorgeous wat.
I separated from the herd today and stayed in Chiang Rai while the rest of the tour group went to Myanmar. I'm sure Myanmar is a cool place to visit, but I wanted a little time to explore on my own. Chiang Rai is the perfect size for pedestrian exploration. I was able to walk all around the city. I walked through the huge market area, visited three wats, spent some time at an Internet Cafe catching up on email, had a foot massage, visited with a monk, bought a pretty silk skirt and shirt set, hung out with ex-pats at a little German bar, and finally caught up with the group when they came into town for dinner. It was a great day.


Additional photos below
Photos: 16, Displayed: 16


Advertisement

Temple in Chiang Rai 2Temple in Chiang Rai 2
Temple in Chiang Rai 2

Inside the temple.
Another Temple in Chiang RaiAnother Temple in Chiang Rai
Another Temple in Chiang Rai

I loved the color contrast between the dark wood and golden painted borders. I'm sure there must be a term for the upturned icicles adorning the roof edges of the Thai temples, but I don't know.
Gong ShowGong Show
Gong Show

This gong had the most beautiful tone.
Jade BuddhaJade Buddha
Jade Buddha

This is not THE jade Buddha, but it is a beautiful green. I think it may be marble.
Pink PorkchopsPink Porkchops
Pink Porkchops

Here are more of those bizarre pink porkchops. I'll try one the next time I visit.
Lunch spotLunch spot
Lunch spot

This is the famous Cabbages and Condoms restaurant in Chiang Rai. Profits from the restaurant help fund community improvement efforts, including HIV prevention through the use of condoms. The menu said, "food guaranteed not to cause pregnancy." But if your husband or boyfriend eats a lot of garlic... you may get into trouble.
Good Foot Rubs HereGood Foot Rubs Here
Good Foot Rubs Here

This is place where I enjoyed over an hour of blissful foot reflexology. For about $5 equivalent in U.S. dollars.
OAT - Oh, Another TempleOAT - Oh, Another Temple
OAT - Oh, Another Temple

Ole jokes that O.A.T. stands for "Oh, another temple." And so it goes... This was the last of the three temples I visited in Chiang Rai. I loved those colorful snakes guarding the steps. "Naga" is the snake god.
InsideInside
Inside

Another beautiful Buddha statue and golden finery.
Monk LaundryMonk Laundry
Monk Laundry

What a neat shot. Saffron colored monks' robes with an indigo tablecloth.
Melting CandlesMelting Candles
Melting Candles

These candles in front of the shrine were huge - about a foot thick. What would Heloise recommend to get out the melted wax spots?
Another temple viewAnother temple view
Another temple view

There are 30,000 temples in Thailand. Each one is unique and beautiful - like snowflakes.
NagaNaga
Naga

Another guard snake watching over a temple.
Thai Web BloggerThai Web Blogger
Thai Web Blogger

I met this guy at the little German bar in Chiang Rai. He keeps a blog about his days in Thailand. I had read his site before I came on the tour. What a small world.


Tot: 0.126s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 14; qc: 82; dbt: 0.0472s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb