Starting Out


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » North-East Thailand » Nong Khai
February 27th 2008
Published: February 27th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Flushing SoundFlushing SoundFlushing Sound

Toilet in Tokyo airport note function: Flushing Sound
A short account of what has happened up to now.

I arrived in Bangkok last week on Thursday evening after a 14 hour flight to Tokyo followed by a 7 hour flight to Bangkok. As I was leaving the airplane I figured I would find someone to share a cab with to the street where all the youth hostels are. Behind me was a guy from California who looked nice so I asked him if he wanted to share a cab and he said sure. He was meeting another friend who had lived in Thailand for a year a couple of years ago and to his surprise, the guy had come to get him at the airport. So, luckily for me, I had someone who could communicate with the cab driver. Even luckier, the friend, who was staying at another friend’s apartment told me I could spend my first night with them (at this point it was 2 am and I thought this would be a better option than trying to see if the hostel would be open at that time).

The next day, we split up and I went around Bangkok for a couple of hours before I
View from Richard'sView from Richard'sView from Richard's

View to Laos from Richard's House
got on a plane to Udon Thani, where I met up with Patricia’s (Oscar’s sister) friend Richard. Richard, an American ex-pat has been nothing but welcoming and kind. He lives in a beautiful house by the Mekong Riverbed across the river from Laos. Richard has lived in Thailand for over 40 years and has been kind enough to take me in and show me around. He has a Thai boxing camp near his home which houses and helps orphan boys. The place is beautiful and the kids are always smiling.

While at Richard’s, I met his friend Jack who Patricia and Mario, her husband, taught at the community college in Nong Khai. Jack has a volunteer program called Isan Survivor which he runs out of his home near the town of Phon Phusai. He hosts volunteers who are going to teach English in the local school. Jack mentioned he was taking a river trip with his two volunteers so I volunteered to come along for the ride. I spent four days at Jacks house and experienced the delicious flavors not only of his mother’s cooking, but of the local villages and towns.

Last night I traveled back to
Fish TanksFish TanksFish Tanks

Tanks the locals have on riverbed to cultivate fish.
Richard’s house where I’m getting ready to pack my stuff and head back to Bangkok on a 12 hour night train. I plan on staying there for the weekend and then going south to the beaches, I’ll let you know how it goes. In the mean time, if you want to contact me, I have a Thai cell phone where I can be reached: 66.8.90614893, just remember there’s a 12 hour difference between NY and Thailand. Hope to hear from you soon!



Additional photos below
Photos: 19, Displayed: 19


Advertisement

Year of the RoosterYear of the Rooster
Year of the Rooster

I was born on the year of the rooster
Statue ParkStatue Park
Statue Park

Statues in a tourist temple
Things for SaleThings for Sale
Things for Sale

Some of the things for sale at the Statue Park
Things for SaleThings for Sale
Things for Sale

Some of the things for sale at the statue park
My Bed at Jack's HouseMy Bed at Jack's House
My Bed at Jack's House

This was the view from my bed at Jack's house
Baby GoatBaby Goat
Baby Goat

Self explanatory
No one to callNo one to call
No one to call

One of the many functioning public phones in the village
Look a WatLook a Wat
Look a Wat

A what? A temple...
Isan AdventureIsan Adventure
Isan Adventure

Boat trip with Isan Adventurers
Kao Nyan Ma MuangKao Nyan Ma Muang
Kao Nyan Ma Muang

mmmm... Sticky rice with mango and coconut milk
Hide from the sunHide from the sun
Hide from the sun

Thai people do not like tanning...
Sunset on the MekongSunset on the Mekong
Sunset on the Mekong

This is the view from Richard's house over the Mekong


27th February 2008

Chiqui!!!
Chiqui!!! Que bueno que te fue bien en el vuelo a el otro lado del mundo. Todo se ve divino, la debes estar pasando deli. Que delicia la comida, no me imagino, debe ser lo mejor. Pasala super and keep updating us. We love you!!
28th February 2008

holaa
que bueno este blog!!! te estare siguiendo la pista ya ves coo todo se te va dando!!! aprovecha muchoo!!1 parece que mi frijolito es tiene una pequena vagina!! nos e dejo ver muy bien pero 80 es nina!!! besitos
11th March 2008

wow
Gaby, you have guts....it looks like you're having a great time - real adventures one after the other. I had no idea you were traveling the world! I've read your blog entries and will read them all - bon voyage!

Tot: 0.036s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0172s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb