My big late OE


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » North-East Thailand » Nong Khai
February 20th 2008
Published: February 20th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Hi All

I'm here in Thailand for 25 days and getting blown away at the difference's in culture a

Any way I was browsing the net as ya do and came across this neat wee story
by Poorhouse (Adam Medcalf) and part of his story I quote:

"An Israeli couple asked us the obvious-yet-unthought-of-by-me queston of where is Zealand? new Amsterdam = Amsterdam, Holland, New York = York, UK, New England = England, but Zealand? The Irish guys say there is a Zealand in Scandanavia somewhere, but were slow and unsure enough to make me wonder if they made it up...? "

but I thought I'd answer this for those interested.

as New Zealand (well part of South Island I believe) was discovered by a bloke called "Able Tasman" and he jus by chance was Dutch he named if after Zeeland in Holland as I understand it.

I will tell about my own trip in more detail and share some pic's when I return to NZ and get them saved from my camera
and coverted to jpg as I dout you will see raw shots from here

back in a bit

Advertisement



Tot: 0.04s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0236s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb