Bye Laos Hello Thailand


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » North-East Thailand » Nong Khai
September 5th 2007
Published: September 9th 2007
Edit Blog Post

NongkaiNongkaiNongkai

Hotel where volunteers are picked up from
Thursday 6th September - Up early and was raining lightly so didn't go far from the hotel. Left by Tuk tuk and headed for the Friendship Bridge which is the border spot between Laos and Thailand separated by the Mekong River. It was absolutely teeming rain now and about 3kms from the Bridge the tuk tuk spluttered and stopped. My driver looked at me and raised his eyebrows so I wondered how long I was going to be sitting in tuk tuk. Out came the pliers and a couple of rags and he was wiping a few wires. No go and said to me - 10 minutes madam. Well, a few more tools came out and in about 8 minutes a big smile was on his face as the tuk tuk was mobile again. I arrived at the border and my luggage was placed on the pavement so I managed to obtain a trolley and then a guy came to my assistance. He got me over the other side of the border and my passport stamped and then it was to get a vehicle of some description to go to the hotel in NongKai. A car took me to the hotel
NongkaiNongkaiNongkai

Tuk tuk man and son - took me around Nongkai
where I rang Nic from Openmind Projects and then I was met and taken by tuk tuk to the Openmind Projects volunteer house. After meeting some of the other volunteers and staff, I was given a bike and taken to the bank but card wouldn't work so came back. Later on the faithful tuk tuk man drove me around and the next stop was successful and then to get a sim card. When I came back, I wandered around a few streets to get my bearings. Then it was off to a lovely restaurant on the banks of the Mekong with Toto, Ya, Valerie, Nils and Wayne. It was a great banquet. After the meal it was back in the tuk tuk. Went to bed quite late as then it was time to try and bring my journal up to date.Friday 7th September - Well, today it was an early wakeup by the crowing of roosters followed by the singing of the children at the school a couple of doors up from us. Was our first day of the orientation program for Jordanne and Rob (from America) and myself with Nic. He showed us around the volunteer house/property and then
NongkaiNongkaiNongkai

Time to eat again - Went to a lovely restaurant down on the edge of the Mekong - delicious Thai selection - Yummo
it was trying to learn some Thai language. In the afternoon, into the same tuk tuk and our first stop was at the Sala Keaw Ku Park. It is a large area with absolutely huge cement statues of buddahs and animals. There is a similar park, Buddah Park out of Vientiane in Laos and I visited this last year. Both parks were designed by the same man. Nic explained some of the legends and then it was off to the Wat Po Chai (The Royal Temple). This temple is beautiful. We then were taken to the market with a piece of paper and we had to try and listen to the Thai pronunciation of the articles. It was quite a hoot. After dinner, several of us went in the usual tuk tuk to an icecream/coffee place so was another piggy event. Came back and then off to bed.


Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement

NongkaiNongkai
Nongkai

Other side of the table
At ParkAt Park
At Park

One of the huge statues at Sala Keaw Ku
At ParkAt Park
At Park

Another of the monstrosities
Still in parkStill in park
Still in park

Can't help but take photos of these monstrosities - Just so huge
Still wandering around parkStill wandering around park
Still wandering around park

This is still in the park. Couldn't take them all
Nic praying in templeNic praying in temple
Nic praying in temple

The photo does not show the beautiful interior - disappointing
On the banks of the MekongOn the banks of the Mekong
On the banks of the Mekong

Me on the banks of the Mekong just near the markets after our practice with the Thai language
Near marketsNear markets
Near markets

Along the banks of the Mekong river - See the buddah's head?


Tot: 0.077s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 13; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0443s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb