Dear Brent,


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » North-East Thailand » Nakhon Phanom
July 25th 2011
Published: July 27th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Dear Brent,
I’ve eaten a lot of things that taste like minnows since coming to Thailand. Spring rolls, watermelon seeds, banana chips; when I eat things here, I feel like I forgot to wash my hands after playing in the minnow bucket. My lack of filter usually compels me to blurt out: “This tastes like fish,” and causes our dear vegetarian, Justin, to stop eating. I have developed a greater respect for the vegetarian lifestyle because of this; I congratulate you for making it through Thailand alive. I’m bored to death with the food on our street; I can’t imagine having even fewer options.
I haven’t been writing of late. It’s not because of my selfish-keep the information to myself tendencies like of the past, but because I’ve been sleeping. I’ve actually been going to bed for the past few weeks. It’s quite nice. I became rather preoccupied with keeping up with the States, the blog, the research website, movies, and going out with friends that I just stayed up until it was all done. Now it is all NOT done, and I feel just fine. I feel good.
I went to Khao Yai National Park a few weeks ago with Justin, and I think I’m ready for one of your adventures. I’ve never been to Antarctica…wink wink. We camped in the rain, trekked 8 km through the jungle, got sucked by leeches and hitchhiked all over the park. I feel like I’m learning how to take care of myself in weird situations, in strange environments, and I think you would appreciate that. Though Grandma is probably shaking her head at me, the hitchhiking was my favorite part. I think I was quite good at it. Maybe it runs in the family? Haha It was strange to me how often people genuinely wanted to help us. We packed into a car with 6 teenagers who picked us up before we thumbed them; we rode in the bed of a truck full of Buddhist monks; and, we hitched a ride all the way to Pak Chong with a man who works at a Pedigree factory. That guy drives through the park everyday to get to work. He said that on occasion he gets stalled for 3 hours when the elephants cross or lay down in the road. No wonder dog food’s being recalled; no one’s showing up for work. Hahah
It was a nice retreat just 3 hours out of Bangkok. Justin and I were both happy to be outside; the air was up there made everything feel better: cool and clean. I was awfully smiley out there and Justin, quite pleasant. The only time he got whiny was when we were waiting for the elephants, but I just lay in the sun and breathed. You can’t really breathe in Bangkok, I’ve noticed. Buildings replace the sky, stalls replace trees, pavement replaces grass. It feels like I’m in a closet here or the storage room in your dad’s basement. HAHHAHAHAHAHHAHAHAH Even though my experiments in lab will not have real results, at least I can make a conclusion for my personal experiments for the summer: I do not want to settle in a big city. (My other experiment is conclusive as well: I do not want to do lab research).
I spent some more time out of the city all of last week when I went to visit your mom’s friend, Anita. I think there must have been something in the water at Northwest. I felt like I was sitting with Auntie Louise! I’m looking forward to getting those two women together when Anita gets back; it would really be a riot! Anyways, Anita is working as a community development volunteer in the Peace Corps up in Nakhon Phanom province in Isaan. It’s farm-country up there; I was basically living in a rice patty for a week. She does small projects in the tambon (district) that she works in and teaches English and geography. The tambon covers 10 villages that she travels to on her bike, and since she borrowed me a bike, I was able to tour around every day when it wasn’t raining. I also helped her teach a geography class, and we cooked with her friends. It was a very homey stay; it was a nice vacation. It did rain a lot though so I didn’t get to plant rice like I thought, but on the flip-side, I was finally able to read. I read for hours there. And for the first time this summer I actually felt relaxed.
Still, I think I will call the week in Nakhon Phanom my “relaxing education vacation.” I think I learned more that week than the whole time I’ve been in Thailand. It was useful to talk to a fellow Minnesotan; one who knows the language and has traveled all over the world. She told me about dowries here, Westerner/Thai marriages, Buddhist monks, and Thai funerals.; and now I know that the Isaan trifecta is sticky rice, som tam, and grilled chicken. I can correctly identify a katoey (lady-boy) and a kanom (sweet); and, I think I can make you a delightful red curry sauce when I get home. I know I could have stayed there for the rest of my trip just learning from her and her friends. You see, I think that I’m a forever-student like you and Brian. I would be happy to go to school/teach/read for the rest of my life. We’re a special breed, but I’m glad to be in good company with you😊

Until we meet again,
Amy


Advertisement



28th July 2011

The Company of a Forever-Student
Don't forget Jack in that company, so I'm not sure it's all good company. Haha! Glad you're having a good time.
28th July 2011

The Company of a Forever-Student
Ah come on...he was only a student until 25...so you have a few more years to go before you need to settle down. (I hope your mom and dad don't read this!)
28th July 2011

BAHAHAHAHAH Kai-jak, you're hilarious.
28th July 2011

I can't believe it
I actually got mentioned in your blog. What an honor! I think you'll have out done me adventure-wise a couple of fold by the time you're done with this trip. I'm really happy that you've taken advantage of all these travel opportunities. You know already, you'll never regret it. And as much as I hate to admit it, they don't come along so frequently when you get older. I've really enjoyed your posts. Besides being an excellent writer, I think you've got more of the adventure genes than me or Brian even. You might rival your great uncle Larry if you keep it up. Have an excellent rest of your trip. I can't wait to hear the stories in person, Brent

Tot: 0.066s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0394s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb