Thailand baby - First few days


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand
June 11th 2013
Published: June 30th 2013
Edit Blog Post

My flight - Malaga to Brussels, Brussels to Abu Dhabi, Abu Dhabi to Bangkok.

All connections going smoothly, bar a Brussels attendant at the airport advising me it was at my own risk to enter Thailand without an onward ticket and may get refused entry when there, all was good. Plus there was a lady who worked for Brussels airlines who reminded me of Miranda Hart, so that was amusing.

Ethiad airways flight provided all food and drink which was fab - had a chicken wrap for dinner, then breakfast and any drinks (and I used them for 2 connections so had double!)



Arriving in Bangkok on the 11th June, 8pm I was so nervous that they would not let me through, but all went ok and I got a stamp for my 30 day visa!

I had to find where my pick up point was, which of course asking always helps and I found my ride.

I had 2 nights at a hotel near Suvarnabhumi airport as thought I would need sleep etc. The second night I ventured out to a market place where I had my first thai street food, which only cost me 35baht (about 80p) consisting of rice and barbecued pork & veg.

The next morning, I checked out and found my way to my next stay (more central Bangkok) by getting a taxi to the train station and jumping on a train to ratchaprarop station where my hostel - Link Corner Hostel was situated. A kind young Thai girl helped me with the ticket.

I could not check in until later so went and got some water and snacks. I had been chatting to a girl online from the Philippines who was saying how she wanted to go to Ayutthaya but I couldn't wait around for messages to come through. It was raining heavily and I just had to bite the bullet and get out into Bangkok and try to get to Ayutthaya alone. The receptionist advised me of taxi vans that only cost 60baht to get you places. After trekking out in the rain, feet soaking wet, hair like a drowned rat, I found the vans and there was one that was about to leave. I was on my way. Little did I even know that Ayutthaya was actually out of Bangkok.

My day turned out to be a lovely day - when I arrived there (thinking I had missed my stop and that I should just head back) a man with a tuk tuk showed me a laminated card showing all the temples, monuments, ruins etc that I wanted to go and see. I agreed to pay him 500baht (£10) to take me around the sites. He gave me between 20-30 minutes at each place. It was fantastic. The rain had stopped too which was an added bonus (even though I was still soaked through at this point).

The Temples and monuments included Wat Phra Si Sanphet, Wat Phra Mahathat, Wat Ratchaburana, (which was the last I went to so only stood outside) Wat Phra Ram, Wat Lokayasutharam (the reclining Buddha). So all in all I got to see a lot of culture and Buddhas 😊 I loved it.

My tuk tuk driver took me back to the van by 6pm for me to get back, just in time as the rain started again. However, once I got back to the drop off point, it did take me about an hour to find my way back to the hostel, as being my first proper outing I hadn't quite got my bearings so ended up getting some fruit from a stall on the street and getting a tuk tuk. I was pretty lost and had walked a fair distance away (it should have only been a 15 minute walk!)

Advertisement



Tot: 0.221s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0541s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb