Pattaya - Bangkok


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand
October 18th 2009
Published: October 18th 2009
Edit Blog Post

The moment i realized that i have a few days to spend in Thailand before i can travel to Laos (the visa issue previously mentioned) - i decided to warm up a bit on a sunny cozy beach. The closest one to Bangkok is also the (in)famous one - Pattaya. On one hand, i remembered the disappointment I felt at Phuket (and Pattaya sounds to me a bit similar). On the other hand, Pattaya is just two hours by bus from the Bangkok. If tons of people going there each year it couldn’t be that bad. So i decided to give it a chance. I arrived to Pattaya on late evening directly from the airport. Less than 36 hours later I was on a bus to Bangkok.

Bangkok. Must admit that I really love this city. The size, people, variety of transportation (sky trains, metro, boats), parks, markets, malls, temples… If you take the humidity out - I can wander this city for weeks.

Today I spent the mooring on the weekend bazaar (Chatuchak market) which supposed to be the world’s biggest open-air weekend market. I don’t know if it is really the biggest one but it is definitely a huge one. Despite this fact (or may be due to it) I got only a t-shirt and a few fridge-magnets :-)

After the lunch i visited Jim’s Thompson (the famous Thai silk company founder) house-museum which is the one of best preserved traditional Thai houses in Bangkok. Trust me, you wouldn’t mind to spend some time (like months or years) in this red-wooded oasis in the middle of the city. Did I mention the ever-green tropical garden all around the house :-) You can see some of it one the pictures attached…



Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Tot: 0.207s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 60; dbt: 0.0515s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb