so im now a master scuba diver


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Pattaya
May 9th 2007
Published: May 9th 2007
Edit Blog Post

hello people, so just a little update. so i'm now a master scuba diver. which basically means i've completed 5 specialty courses. i have done my deep spec, wreck spec, navigation spec, enriched air (nitrox) spec and search and recovery spec. at the moment i'm trying to get my arse out of the bars and my nose into the books. start my divemaster course on the 17th of may and i am feeling very unprepared at the moment. i'm trying to get on the intern boat and customer boat everyday now. trying to get as much experience at being a divemaster as i can. i went on a skills circuit the other day which just filled me with fear. basically there are 20 skills students have to master when doing their open water and advanced courses and as a divemaster i have to be at a standard where i can demonstarte the skills to the students. i think the majority of the skills after a bit more practice i will be okay but i am really struggling with the mask removal skills. i'm such a baby i struggle concentrating on showing the skill when i have water in my eyes and trying to breathe trough the reg with water up my nose. fingers crossed i will get better.

i tried my 400 metre swim today and was pretty chuffed with my time.for the dm i have to do a timed 400 metre swim then tred water for 10 minutes with my hands out of the water the another 800 metre swim. i didn't think i was going to make it as i'm probably the most unfit person here. all the fried rice and chocolate milkshakes don't help either. god and there was me hoping to loose 2 stone while i was over here!!! don't make me laugh!! oh and of course all the alcohol doesn't help to much either!!

i went for my first thai massage in thailand the otherday. sheryl you would have loved it!! god i felt like i'd been ran over when i came out the after it. i've also moved rooms now. my room before was pretty gross, dirty water used to come up through the drain in the floor and the air con perminently leaked. so the room had the essence of mildew and stagnent water. lovely. but my room now is gorgeous compared. my bed is massive so sheryl and kara i reakon we'll all fit in.

i went to see spiderman 3 at the cinema here last week. it is so cheap its unbelievable. it cost 80 baht to see the film. so about 1 pound 10 pence and an extra large tub of toffee popcorn was only 50 p!! it was a sereal experience though. before the film started the thai national anthem started to play and everybody stood up and we had to watch a video about the king. some people even sang aloud. and when we were watching the film the thai people laughed uncontrolably at the most unfunny parts of the film.

sorry about the pics i do,do other things apart from go out on the lash honest but i'm always to busy to take pics when i'm diving sorry. i will try and get a few more.

anyway everything is same same but different really. i'll update you if anything exciting happens.

love and miss you all

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx


Additional photos below
Photos: 23, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

the snorkel testthe snorkel test
the snorkel test

this is the dive master celebrations. i'm sure you can imagine what is put into the snorkel. you have to drink as much as you can before you have to take a breath.


9th May 2007

Congrats on passing the course so far!! Glad to hear that the room no longer smells bad!haha! Its going to be like we are on a sleep over for 3 weeks! Im going out on Saturday for a meal for Ruths birthday. Thalia and some others that i know from the Hilton will be there too so should be good. Its crap weather here at the minute, rain rain rain! Have you thought of anything that you wan us to bring with us? if there is, i will get in touch with your mum and get it sorted. Right, i am off now. Have just decided that i am going to the gym! love you lots xxxxxxxxxx
10th May 2007

hello!
Hey Bec, I left u a comment last week but dont know if u got it?! Nevermind, anyway just a very quick 1 as I'm at work. I'm flying out on the 2nd of June (dont know if u remembered me telling u that I was coming back again on that date)? But I'm gonna spend most of my time on the islands and maybe a few days in Pattaya....... but dunno yet as its a bit too seedy 4 my liking, I'll c how I feel when I get there. But anyway, if u wanna meet up it would be good, email me back...... soon! As I leave in 3 weeks. Have u learnt to speak any Thai yet by the way? Mines is pretty crap atm but I know the basics! Cya, xx Neil
11th May 2007

hi
Hey u, yeah I saw Sheryl n Kara in Jaks n they told me that they'd be there at the same time! Crazy or what? I'm trying 2 persuade Adam W to come out with me atm, but I dont think he will. I'm not 2 sure if I will c u guys out there as my plans dont really fit in with yours! I've already done my diving courses etc so I'm gonna head down to Phi Phi n dive there (as its cheaper n nicer) but u may have a different opinion on that! I read ur blog on Phi Phi....... slightly shocked 2 b honest! When I got there I was amazed at the place! I didnt want to leave, it was like living on a tropical island! Dont know how u could have been dissapointed?! p.s. did u do the lookout walk to the top of the island? The view is absolutley amazing, there was even a girl sleeping there! I couldn't believe it..... sleeping bag n all! Anyway, must go but I'll give u a call when I'm there, oh n my mate is getting married to his Thai gf so going to the wedding in Phuket around the 6th I think. But I'll try n meet up with u even if its just 4 a couple of days or something, u can tell me all about ur diving experiences! p.s I'm very jelous that u got 2 dive with a giant turtle. xx
12th May 2007

How cool are you!!
Hi mate just checked out some of your journals makes for some pleasant reading and i'm glad to see that you are making the most of your time away! How much alcohol do you drink?? I've just started my new life in reading although i am finding it hard to find my feet but i'm not one to turn down a challenge! I still visit the homeland though! All the best me old china! Batesi x
21st May 2007

hi becs, well done for passing your course keep up the good work, bloody hell to think when i first met you you didnt use to drink much...rrrrrespect! kelsx
31st May 2007

Off tomoz
Hey Bec, I leave tomoz so prob c u in a couple of weeks as Pattaya is last on my trip this time round! I'm meeting a few friends there actually who live there, so should be good.......1st stop walking street! I'll prob give u a call at some point, bye 4 now. Neil p.s. I'm doing the 3 week island route...... Phuket, Phi Phi, Krabi, Ko Samui etc etc so if ur around email me.

Tot: 0.052s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 10; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0213s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb