Thailand, my land of smiles


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Lopburi
February 17th 2011
Published: August 2nd 2011
Edit Blog Post

After a bad break up and a bad choice in my university degree subjects I decided I needed a break. I needed to get away for a few months or perhaps a years and turn my frantic and haphazard lifestyle into something positive and worthwhile.

I few days later I heard from one of my friends talking about becoming a teachers in Asia. My sister travelled to Thailand two years ago so I thought maybe give Thailand a shot. I went to a local travel agent looked at some options, booked a ticked and went home to pack.

Fast forward a few days later and I was on my way for a new adventure and after a bumpy, but boring flight I arrived in Bangkok international airport. I was met by a very friendly Thai man called Pat. He said he was here on behalf of Teach Travel Asia to pick me up. Pat took me to my relatively comfortable hotel in Bangkok.

I must confess that I felt rather scared being in this big busy city with all these people. I was also scared at how I would make a new life for myself, I couldn't even speak any Thai at all.

The next day I was met by Kevin Meldau at my hotel. He gave me all the information I needed and answered all my questions very patiently. He said that the next day we would go to a place called Hau Hin were I would start my training to become a teacher.

We left the next day and I met up with a bunch of other guys in the same minibus on their way to do the teacher training course too. I was very, very exciting.

In the next couple of weeks in Hau Hin I made so many friends, did my teacher training and had the best english camp experience. This was so much fun and the kids are so adorable.

During the course, I was still very worried about my future as a teacher,but again Kevin was there to guide me. I was placed before the end of the course at a school in Lopburi in Thailand! I was so excited and happy. I phoned my family and every one back home was so glad for me too. During the course the instructors even take us on tours around the city to get to know Thailand. We even get a Thai lanuage course!!!! (This helped me so much to make good Thai friends)

After working as a teacher now for a couple of months, I couldn't be happier. The school is very different and you need to get used to it, but I love it so much. I sometimes just whish I could do the first month of the course again, making friends and getting to know to know all the new people it was so much fun. Thanks teach travel Asia and Kev for this great opportunity. And thank my Lord God for this great life.

-- Katie Jen

Advertisement



Tot: 0.071s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0378s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb