I need to travel for the rest of my life


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Lopburi
May 17th 2007
Published: May 17th 2007
Edit Blog Post

So.. since my last update I have done several fun things.

I arrived in Ayutthaya after a 3 hour bus trip... on which apparently I attracted ever weirdo ever. This monk sat between Amy and I and attempted to talk to me in Thai. I did NOT understand a word of it, which apparently prompted him to write in thai on his hand and show it to me in pen, as if READING THAI SCRIPT is somehow more like English than talking in Thai good lord.

Then, this crazy old thai lady poked my white white skin a few times with her scaly fingers in between hits of this weird herb she was SNORTING off her hands. I am all for Eastern medicine, but this was a little bit weird.

Anyhoo - Ayutthya was not as exciting as we hoped. Amy ordered a burger at Changs and it was disgusting. It wasn't even cooked. We were all prepared to forgive the transgression except the guy who ran the place was ENGLISH and we couldn't just let him off the hook for not knowing about hamburgers since clearly he should know.

That night, we went on a tour of some Wat ruins by tuk tuk . The ruins are amazing but even more so at night. The locals light them up with spotlights... incredible. It was so eerie yet beautiful at the same time. This guy, Patrick, paid off the policeman-acting-security guard with 100 B (.. only $3!) so our group could run around IN THE RUINS at night while they were lit up! Easily the most amazing experience of my trip so far. You have no idea... it was like being Indiana Jones... we climbed this HUGE steep staircase up to the top of the stone ruins and looked out over the river. All around us are ancient stone icons of Buddha, most of them missing their heads from decay... I cannot stress enough the mystery and greater calm that lays over something like that... there was lightning in the distance. Awe-inspiring. I tell you, I believe in a greater power after something like that.

That night, Patrick Amy and I sat around drinking in the guest house and had a fabulous conversation. Patrick has been travelling on and off for about 10 years and had some amazing stories to tell us. I realize now that travelling is in my blood and I cannot go without seeing the rest of the world. I think my next trip might be to Laos or Africa or somewhere else with such riches of culture. Wherever, whenever - there is just too much to see to spend my life in Canada... not that there is anything wrong with Canada. There is just so much more.

This morning, Amy and I went to Lopburi, a city beseiged by monkeys! Without exagguation, we saw EASILY 100s of monkeys running around the city. They wipe their poop on the windows of the cars... we saw a group of them ransacking this poor woman's laundry line.. the buddhists dont approve of killing animals which is why so many stray dogs and cats (and monkeys, too) run around the country. Also - they have the HUGEST sets of genetalia I have EVER seen. Good god.

We are catching the night train to Lampang tonigt, where we will go to an Elephant conservation center. Then, onto Chaing Mai, Pai and then Laos!

Advertisement



18th May 2007

this isn't amy
omg IT'S LIKE I'M RIGHT THERE WITH YOU!!!!! you are not reading this.
19th May 2007

haha
only you would notice their genitalia hahah

Tot: 0.087s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0371s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb