Lopburi -- home of the evil monkeys!!


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Lopburi
March 21st 2018
Published: March 21st 2018
Edit Blog Post

I chose to go to Lopburi, before I arrived in Thailand. I really wanted to make sure to see macaques.

If you, at least go to one national park during your trip , don't even bother to come to Lopburi as you are almost 100% sure to see macaques in these parks.

But if you're not, you will see them in Lopburi.

A bit of warning: the macaques in the city are stressed out and agressive, so make surer not to get bitten.

At my previous stop, Khao Yai, I saw plenty of macaques. I wanted to skip Lopburi, and go to Ayuthaya instead, but it was too late to cancel the hotel, so I had to go.

First of all, i personally didn't like Lopburi, as it looks to me as a dirty city with no appeal. But I don;'t like cities in general, so I am not a good reference. :-)

The temple, Phra Prang Sam or monkey temple locally, is in downtown.

When I arrived there, I saw monkeys in the streets, sitting on a top of a pickup truck. It's funny to look at them.

I took the pictures of the temple, which seemed closed at the time??? But the view from the street is perfect, so no problem there.

3-4 minutes after, the monkeys jumped on my rented car. They began to chew the antenna, to pull rubber moldings, and to break all other things.......

In a hurry, I tried to make them go away, (not easy), went into the car, and leave rapidly from the scene. It was my fastest outing ever!! I left that place and went to my hotel.



NICE FINDING: The hotel were I stayed, the Paklop resort, was the highlight of that region. Spacious, clean, modern, very nice, and really really cheap, (35$ CAD).

Style seems like a fusion of japanese and modern. Each unit has its own, private parking at the front, and little pond with fishes at the back!!!! It's located a few kilometers, before downtown Lopburi.

Definitively a place to stop, that I recommend.



NEXT STOP : Bat temple...


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



Tot: 0.257s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 26; qc: 90; dbt: 0.1608s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb