Old Siamese Ruins


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Ayutthaya
January 18th 2007
Published: January 20th 2007
Edit Blog Post

I went on a tour of Ayutthaya today. At 7 in the morning we met outside my guesthouse and boarded a really crappy old van. It was a passenger van and I got stuck having to climb in the back, which ended up being a pain in the butt because we spent the whole time climbing in and out of that thing. It was supposed to be air-conditioned van, but I doubt it was. The air was on, but it was hotter than hell in that thing.

Ayutthaya is about an hour out from Bangkok. Our guide spoke possibly the worst English I've heard since I got here. No one in the group could figure out what he was saying. It was unfortunate because it would have been nice to understand where and what some of the things were. There were a lot of cool people on the tour with me, but as soon as I was getting to know some of them we were divided up. I had signed up to see the Summer Palace, while most everyone else hadn't. They were taken back to Bangkok and I continued on to the palace. It was nice and the grass was green but it really wasn't all that spectacular. In one of the buildings I entered I had to put on a sarong because ladies could only wear skirts. I thought that was a bit odd, but I didn't mind because they lent me a sarong.

Overall it was a good day, half of it I didn't know what the hell the ruins were. Sometime I'll read up on what I saw. I was happy to go back to Bangkok and go to bed. It had been a long day.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.102s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0637s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb