My Tajikistan


Advertisement
Tajikistan's flag
Asia » Tajikistan
August 18th 2006
Published: August 21st 2006
Edit Blog Post

Mountain sunsetMountain sunsetMountain sunset

A mountain valley on the way to Tavildera.
So, this is only the third entry on www.travelblog.org for Tajikistan. Unfortunately, the country doesn’t get much coverage, but I aim to change that. I will be working for over half a year in the Rasht Valley and my job will be taking me to some of the more remote areas of the country. The country is already pretty remote considering the limited number of flights in to the capital, Dushanbe, and its geographic location. The neighbouring states - Uzbekistan, the Kyrgyz Republic, Afghanistan and Western China - are not really "hot" tourist destinations and as a result there is not a lot of overland traffic into Tajikistan, apart from people who live in this region. Here are a few photos of the area where I work. I hope that you enjoy them. I will also try to post a few anecdotes when I have time.

Here is a bit of background on this region of Tajikistan. The beauty of the area is best described by the pictures. However, there is an interesting history in this region. After the fall of the USSR, Tajikistan entered into a civil war and this area was the stronghold for the mujaheedin rebels (Sorry
TankTankTank

In some of the most likely places you will come across reminders of the civil war. This tank is on a mountain road that in some places is hardly wide enough for one vehicle.
mom, I forgot to mention that before I left). The only noticeable scars from the conflict are the rusting wrecks of tanks and APCs. I find it hard to believe and disturbing to think that this area was engulfed in a conflict where tens of thousands of people were killed. You would honestly never know today. Fortunately peace was declared in 1997 and the people were able to get on with their lives.



Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

SurkhobSurkhob
Surkhob

This is a view of the Surkhob River that passes east of Garm. The day this picture was taken two major bridges were washed away upstream. It looks docile, but up close it is very fast moving and could easily carry a person away. I have been told that the river hasn’t been this high for 15 years.
Barf laundry soapBarf laundry soap
Barf laundry soap

When I’m in Tajikistan I use BARF to clean my clothes! What is even funnier is the fine print under the “B”. It appears that Barf’s PR person knew the pleasure that foreigners would get from its name and in an attempt to diminish their enjoyment they put “Barf mean snow.” There you go kids, Tajik lesson #1.


Tot: 0.068s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0369s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb