Metaphor for the Day


Advertisement
Tajikistan's flag
Asia » Tajikistan » Khujand
October 14th 2012
Published: October 14th 2012
Edit Blog Post

A brief anecdote that I was thinking about when I woke up this morning, maybe because I was dreaming about it, I don't know:

I spent Friday in a village that had not seen a foreigner since 1977, and it was great. After visiting some schools and an English program, we were driving back to the family where I would spend the night, and the sun was setting so they were bringing all the cows in from the fields. I asked my student, "Whose cows are those?"

"The whole village cows are coming in."

"Really? How do the people know which cow is theirs?"

"The cow knows! Cow goes to his house by himself. He knows his home."

Oh to be so lucky...

Advertisement



14th October 2012

Happy
Are you too good fer yer hooome!?
15th October 2012

Yes!
Ha! Sarah, that is a question that we asked Emmanuel while we were in Senegal...all these wandering herds of goats everywhere...how do they know where to go at the end of the day? He laughed so hard saying 'they know their home!'
15th October 2012

Let me point the way...
Now, you know your mother is going to comment on that! Right here in in beautiful Tulsa, Oklahoma, any day, any time!
18th October 2012

Your anecdote
How beautiful! So animals are wonderful in every country! Sorry I'm just now getting on here, btw! (:
19th October 2012

Mooooooo
Sorry about the title... I couldn't think of a title for my comment. But I wanted to say, what a beautiful entry! For some reason it made a lump come up in my throat. Just a bunch of wandering cows. *sigh*
21st October 2012

We are still younger than 1977...
How awesome that you were the first foreigner in so long! How did they like hipster bangs? :)
30th October 2012

:)

Tot: 0.06s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0314s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb