Day 8: Taipei - Presidential Office Building, Armed Forces Museum and Matyrs' Shrine (Oct 2016)


Advertisement
Taiwan's flag
Asia » Taiwan » Taipei
October 28th 2016
Published: May 7th 2017
Edit Blog Post

Friday, 28th October 2016

This was a perfect day to start my sightseeing plans in Taipei city. After a wholesome local egg pancake with pork floss and an aromatic coffee, I headed to the Presidential Office Building where I had reserved a 10am slot for my guided tour. Visits to the building is strictly regulated by appointment and it was through this tour that we got to learn the breakfast and lunch menus of the President (nothing too elaborate). The tour itself is rather informative with the knowledgeable volunteers even though I wished that we were given more time to go through the galleries at the ground floor. There was a souvenir shop and a spot where we could take pictures at the end of the tour.

After my visit, I popped over to the Presidential and Vice-Presidential Artifacts Museum which was just next door. There was a room containing lots of information of the Taiwan elections. The volunteer who attended to me was very enthusiastic in sharing her knowledge as I engaged in some informative discussion with her.

The Armed Forces Museum (@ Ximending) and a visit to the Matyrs' Shrine (to watch the hourly changing of guards) were the highlights of my afternoon before I headed to Miramar for my much-needed haircut and dinner.

This was a day well-spent on museum hopping within Taipei city away from the usual tourist fanfare.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.341s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 13; qc: 84; dbt: 0.2503s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb