My book "Taiwan from the Eyes of a Foreigner" released


Advertisement
Taiwan's flag
Asia » Taiwan » Taipei
August 16th 2011
Published: August 16th 2011
Edit Blog Post

My first book, "Taiwan from the Eyes of a Foreigner" was released this week in Taiwan. The book is available for international order from MY WEBSITE

我的書 “老外愛台灣” 這一個禮拜出版了。
在台灣,上網訂購 (現在有折扣!):
這理

The book will also be available in bookstores across Taiwan after August 20th.
8月20日 全台各大書店上市.

當西方遇見東方~
加拿大作家 Nick Kembel在台灣兩年到處旅行、教學、愛情的切身體驗。一部充滿幽默感、創意、振奮人心的真實故事。本書 (老外看台灣) 有令人眼睛為之一亮的攝影作品、自畫卡通、詩作皆以中英文兩種語言呈現 。來 Nick 的官方網站看看

The Story
Three years ago I ended up in Taiwan by a series of events including a break-up, and getting forced out of another country for not having a proper visa. Taiwan grew on me quickly, and I started to explore the tropical island nation more thoroughly. Taiwanese people began to comment that the Taiwan that they saw in my photos was different than the way they had always viewed their own country. I felt that this somehow stemmed from the difference in perspective between a local, and a foreigner who has struggled to find his own niche within a radically different society from his own. I decided to write a book to explain to the Taiwanese people what it is like for an outsider living in their country, and why I love Taiwan. I also intended to inspire other foreigners to come to this beautiful island, and to learn more about Taiwanese history, customs, and culture.

The Book
"Taiwan from the Eyes of a Foreigner" is presented in both English and Chinese for the benefit of a wider audience of readers. My intention was to create a 'window' between two cultures; to give a deeper explanation to the Taiwanese people to their common query "what do you think about Taiwan?", and to explain the behavior and attitudes of foreigners in Taiwan, and simultaneously to help other foreigners understand Taiwanese culture a little better. The book includes over 100 color photos, illustrations and cartoons by professional artist Leanne Kembel, and poetry, all of which attempt to give a more complete perspective of my visual and emotional experience of Taiwan.

The book is organized chronologically according to the history of Taiwan, from geological formation and the arrival of aboriginals, fishermen, and pirates, to colonization, the Japanese era, and modern times. I look at each era not as a historian, but as a traveler, experiencing each of those elements of Taiwanese society as they appear today. Finally, I look at 'My Taiwan', including my personal experiences teaching English, dating, and traveling around the island with my family and friends.

Highlights
-Climbing Yu Shan, the highest peak in Northeast Asia
-Taiwanese youth dressing up like cartoons at Cosplay gatherings
-The Mazu pilgrimage, for the goddess of fishermen and the sea
-Trying my chance as Taiwan's first Betel Nut Boy
-All night aboriginal dance of the ancient Saisiat Tribe
-Buddhism and traditional Chinese culture meet the 'Strawberry Generation'
-Confucian ideals vs. Punk Rock

Quotes
"We Westerners come to Taiwan seeking a traditional or ‘Asian’ experience, and instead we encounter modernity and a culture of consumerism and convenience that we invented, but places like Taiwan seem to have perfected."

"I respect Tudi Gong, not necessarily as a god, but as an idea; that humans and nature are intimately connected as one, and that we can communicate with the earth in our daily lives."

"I have heard that the Bājiājiàng are not supposed to laugh or smile once they have applied their face paint, but here in this narrow Tainan alleyway, hidden away from the crowds that await them out on the main street, the Bājiājiàng are full of smiles and cheer as they joke around and converse with me."

Interview with me on Waakao.com

Order your copy now, for only 20$ CAD (Including tax and shipping to anywhere in the world), or see more info on my website on how to pick one up in Taiwan!

www.nickkembel.com






Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement



16th August 2011

congrats
congratulations from Argentina hope it's the start of many more to come
16th August 2011

Congratulations!
Good for you, Nick! You know we are all fans here [:)] ---- it's good the book is both in English and Chinese. Great going!
17th August 2011

Congratulations!
I lived in Taiwan for four months in 2006, so can understand your love for the island, it culture and its people. The photos you have shown here are beautiful so I look forward to collecting a copy of the book from you during my return visit to Taiwan later in the year.
17th August 2011

great! check out any major bookstore when you come, or order online form my site!
19th August 2011

Congratulations on your first book publishing. Your photos are some of the best on this website, and I'm amazed that you've been working as a teacher for three years despite looking very different. I thought it would be hard to find work in Asia as an English teacher for non-generic looking people.

Tot: 0.088s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 13; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0364s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb