Shopping Adventures


Advertisement
Taiwan's flag
Asia » Taiwan » Taipei
June 28th 2007
Published: June 28th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Shopping in Taiwan has been an experience I won’t forget.

I may have mentioned a tailor across the street from the hotel in an earlier post. I ordered a custom-made shirt from him the first day we were here for $25US. I got it last night and it fits quite well. Now that he has my measurements, I can order custom-made shirts from him and have them shipped, still for less than many dress-shirts I would buy in the U.S off-the-rack.

One or two of the guys got suits made and all of us got shirts. One of the ladies on the trip - I would not dare say whom - left the place unhappy after several comments by one of the proprietors that they were used to making clothing for much smaller women.

Ordering food at times has been a little bit of a challenge, but we have usually had someone around to help.

I mentioned earlier in the week that we visited a night market. That visit was under such a cloud of exhaustion that I really did not get to experience it appropriately.

Last night several of us went again to a night market. This had all the same sensory overload as the first - all kinds of products, all kinds of food.

I went into a shoe store while a couple of the others with me were looking at shoes and ended up finding some I like and decided to buy.

I asked the salesman the price of the shoes and he showed me on his calculator. I then said to him, “well, I will need to go get some cash.” Suddenly he tapped a few buttons on the price and said, “this price.”

I was surprised he cut the price for me but was quite happy so I asked, “Do you take credit cards?” Tap-tap-tap; a lower price again!

This guy thought I was trying to bargain with him and just couldn’t understand me. I finally said, “Visa?” And he said, “Yes.”

Then we somehow all made it back to the hotel in a cab without being able to speak to the driver.


Advertisement



28th June 2007

Bargaining
I should go to Taiwan, I'm the queen of haggling! Thanks for including me on the blog, great stories and pics.
29th June 2007

Wowsers!
Should I send you my measurements *now*?? Or email them to your yahoo account? Mastercard?
29th June 2007

...
BTW, by Chinese standards, I'm *also* a fat ass. Hope your lady friend doesn't feel too bad about that.

Tot: 0.162s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0547s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb