Reflections


Advertisement
Taiwan's flag
Asia » Taiwan » Taichung
August 26th 2006
Published: August 25th 2006
Edit Blog Post

I am slowly adjusting to my new life here in Taiwan. I know it will take some time but things will get better. I have been able to talk to people today and I am feeling like I am not alone anymore. As I was surfing the net reading things I realized that 5 years ago today I was a naïve college freshman moving into the dorms and saying goodbye to my family. Never in a million years would I have imagined I would be where I am today. Currently I am approximately 9000 miles away from what I have known as home for my entire life. I am in a culture so dramatically different from the one I have come from. As I think about all the college freshman starting school and all of my friends going back to school, I wonder do they have a clue what is in store for them. They have every opportunity available to them. There are so many paths in life and why choose the one because everyone else does, your best friend does or the guy you like does. Make a choice for yourself and take a chance. Now is the time when we can be selfish and do what we want. I think this is why I am here in Taiwan now. I pursued the opportunity to do something far greater than I could do at home. I am in a totally new place, without any friends and yet I am beginning to have a good feeling about it. Not many people can say they came and totally immersed themselves in to a culture so different than our own. I believe not only will this make me a better person, but it will make me more knowledgeable, more culturally aware, I will develop a better understanding towards foreigners, I will also become a stronger person because of this experience. When I think about the big picture, God did not create this amazing world so we could stay in our comfortable little towns and homes. He has created incredible things in this world for us to see and enjoy and it is my passion and desire to experience everything out there.

Advertisement



29th August 2006

For Rachel
Rachel, I love reading your blog. You have an great sense of the comical and you have keen observational skills as well. Tell me how I can get your blog emailed to me on a regular basis. I tried "joining", but that only took me to a place where I could create my own blog. That isn't what I want to do. I just want yours sent to me via email. If you have time to tell me, great. If not, I'll get your mom to tell me how. Love, Aunt Linda

Tot: 0.1s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 70; dbt: 0.0689s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb