Bittersweet Goodbye


Advertisement
Taiwan's flag
Asia » Taiwan » Taichung » Dajia
July 10th 2007
Published: July 10th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Finally the end of my time in Taiwan has come. Thinking back to some of the rough parts of the year I never thought I could make it to this day. I am so happy and excited to be going home, but I am sad to leave this place I called home for the past year. There have been ups and downs and good and bad. I hope to block out the bad and only remember the good of the island known as Formosa. This place has offered me endless travel opportunities each weekend and there are new things to discover around every corner. There is no way you can know what Taiwan is until you have spent some significant time here, learning and discovering. When people first arrive most only spend time in the modern city of Taipei, but you can't truly expericence Taiwan until to escape the city and head to traditional Taiwan. I have spent the past year traveling to all the cities and areas of Taiwan that are "must sees". What's funny about this is every city in Taiwan has a "must see" place or temple and a famous food. I have used every weekend to reach most of these places and I can say I will leave Taiwan having done everything and more I had planned and I have seen more than most Taiwanese. My teachers always comment how I go so many places but when I only have a year here I feel I need to make the most of it. Some if the highlights this year are:

The top of Taipei 101 (currently the worlds tallest building)

Danshuei- where the river meets the ocean, best boardwalk, shopping and sunsets

Hualien- the natural beauty of Taiwan, mountains, ocean and the friendliest people in Taiwan

Green Island- coral reefs that offer fish unique to only this area and one of three salt water hotsprings in the world

Kenting- sandy beachs and waters, perfect weekend getaway

Kaoshuing (the dirty south)- endless things to do and places to shop

Tainan- The first city of Taiwan, full of history and really great quesadillas.

Puli- the geographical center of Taiwan, full of river hiking and mountains

Maokong- escape from Taipei to the peaceful mountains and enjoy the locally grown tea

Alishan- the second tallest mountain in Taiwan, providing stunning scenery

Each place I visited I was amazed by the beauty. My favorite weekends were the ones where we would leave the busy polluted cities and make it out to the mountains or ocean. The clean air and peacefulness of the people and the slower pace of life. Its so nice to get away. This past year has been far from hard. I have gotten paid an obscene amount of money to spend my weekend traveling and my weeks teaching some of the cutest, most well behaved students. It would be so easy to dwell on the bad parts but thats not how I want to remember Taiwan. The problems I experienced are only ones other foreigners can relate to living in a country where they discriminate against people who have one parent from China, let alone people from totally different countries. But with out these problems I would not have grown and broadened my view of the world.

I know my travels are far from over and I hope I can continue to learn about other cultures and meet new people who will change my life.

Thanks for a great year Taiwan!!

Get ready everyone, I am comin' HOME!!! Bring on the food, shopping and MY BED!!!!!!




Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



10th July 2007

Welcome Home, Rachel
Dear Rachel: I have really enjoyed reading your travel blogs. I've gotten to know you and Taiwan a little better with each entry. Thank goodness you really did take advantage of your free time to explore AND that you wrote about so many of your experiences. I hope that you'll keep posting for a few more months, at least, because coming back to the States will be an interesting experience -- you might feel like a foreigner for a little while and I'm curious about your impressions of America from that new place. Love, Lee-Ellen
10th July 2007

Will Miss the Blog
I have been reading your blog all along too - and it and other blogs have inspired me to teach overseas also. Thanks Rachel!
10th July 2007

Welcome Back!
Rachel, I will miss your blogs! I have hardly been able to wait until I am notified that I have a new one. You have truly made the most of your experiences! Come see us in Cbus-Love Cindy

Tot: 0.061s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 20; dbt: 0.0431s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb