Why is a yo-yo called a yo-yo?


Advertisement
Taiwan's flag
Asia » Taiwan » Taichung » Dajia
June 7th 2007
Published: June 7th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Continuing about some of my experiences here, it has been a humbling year. I have read alot of articles about young college graduates going out into the world as cocky know it alls. They think they have learned everything and this is something I read again and again. Websites telling you graduates in interviews to try and admit they have alot still to learn. Well lets be serious, there is no way you can ever possibly know everything. I will be the first to admit I still have so much to learn, and I can spend the rest of my life learning and I will barely scratch the surface. Two of my favorite Chinese sentences are, " Wo bu ge dao and ting bu dong." Meaning "I dont know and I dont understand." I dont think we can truly know what is out there unless we get out and experience it. I think I have said "I dont know" over a million times during the past 11 months. Some examples of things I just dont know..... (they are asked on the spot and I would know if I could up the answers)

1. Why is a yo- yo called a yo-yo?
2. Who invented the yo-yo?
3. Why do you say__________? (Sometimes I know and some times I dont)
4. Why dont you have a boyfriend?
5. What is the name of this tropical fruit?
6. Who do you like to work with the best?
7. Who speaks the best English?
8. Why do the kids love you?
9. Why are Americans all fat?
10. Why do Americans love coffee?
11. What is the name of this tropical plant?
12. Where does the Chicken Dance come from?
13. Why do you do it?
14. What does Skidamarink a dink a dink mean?
15. Why do you say the alarm goes off when it really goes on?
16. What is the history of Mother's Day?
17. Why are American's so independent?
18. Why does America get in everyone's business?
19. Why do you eat candy for Easter?


I think alot of times people expect me to know all the words or meanings for everything. Yes, I speak English and I'm American but unfortunatly you got cheated on your foreign teacher, cause I am not a genius. I have only lived for a mere 24 years and I am just starting to get out and live my life and learn what is outside of the lovely state of Ohio and the beautiful town of Perrysburg. I have never seen so many fruits, plants and foods before in my life. To this day I still only know the Chinese for some of these things. When they ask me to try all the different sorts of tropical fruits, they always ask, "Do you have this in America?" Well I am sure some where in the 50 states we may have a loquat or even imported durians, but in Ohio?? Yeah right, in Ohio we grow apples. (the apples are much better in Ohio) I have to explain Ohio is not a tropical climate and we cannot grow many of these fruits. Oh how I wish we could have fresh passion fruit and mangoes, but thats what makes traveling fun, you get to learn new fruits and vegetables. Everyday I am reminded of how much I have yet to learn and even though I spend hours researching on the internet and watching the travel channel, I am aware there is so much more out there.

The more experiences you have the more knowledge you gain. So get learnin'!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.103s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 11; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0619s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb