Walk aroung the 2nd largest taiwanese city


Advertisement
Taiwan's flag
Asia » Taiwan » Kaohsiung
December 6th 2013
Published: September 11th 2017
Edit Blog Post

I really liked this city, Kaohsiung. The night market I went to (Rueifang) was amazing. And I managed to identify the food I bought 😊 so I got chicken heart on a stick, egg+sausage+cheese encased in some sort of dough and roasted squid and also green tea. I didn't see a single western face while I was there (and I went around a few time before I could decide what to eat). I definitively recommend that night market. The second evening I somehow ended in the fashion district of Kaohsiung. It's Shinkugan shopping district (east of Central Park). The lanes are filled with shops selling fashionable clothes and the young crowd that goes with it. It is kind of a tame version of Takeshita-dori in Harajuku (Tokyo). I felt a little bit out of place with my mountain-hiking style, but whatever... I even found some food there. This time I got a chive pancake with an omelette inside and a lot of pepper on top, a bun and again some tea.

I think I toured most of Kaohsiung tourist spot in 1 day. I went to the lotus pond. The pond itself is not that great. It feels a bit
Entrance/exitEntrance/exitEntrance/exit

You HAVE to enter through the mouth of the dragon and exit through the mouth of the tiger. It's good luck!
like an attraction park. However I enjoyed walking in the small lanes at the back. They had few shops were people were making noodles, lots of temples, and random everyday life scenes. I got my lunch in a small place. They had pictures of the food so I knew I would get some sort of noodly-soupy thing. But I had no idea what would be on top. It turned out to be a mix of oysters, fish balls, meat and pork belly. Yummy! After that I went to Qijin island to see the oldest Matsu temple in the city (17th century). I also took a chance to visit the fort and the light house. I enjoyed the view over Kaohsiung harbour and the tallest building. I made my way back into town via the love river. They have redeemed it recently. Not so long ago, the river side was much polluted. Now you can see fish in the river so I guess it is rather clean.

I really enjoyed strolling this city, taking the time to enjoy each place and watch people. I spent a moment at the harbour watching the fishermen and the boats coming in and out (some were huge).




J'ai beaucoup aimé cette ville, Kaohsiung (prononcer Gosh-ioun). Je suis allée au marché de nuit de Rueifang qui est vraiment animé. J'ai même réussi à identifier ce que j'ai mangé: donc au menu ce soir, brochette de cœur de poulet, une sorte de pancake sandwich avec un oeuf, de la saucisse et du fromage, un calamar rôti et bien sûr un thé. Je n'ai pas vu un seul blanc pendant tout le temps où j'y étais (et j'ai fait le tour plusieurs fois avant de me décider). Je recommande vivement cet endroit. Le deuxième soir j'ai réussi à atterrir dans le quartier branché de la ville. C'est Shinkugan, à l'est de Central Park. Les allées sont remplies de magasins de fringues à la mode et des jeunes qui vont avec. C'est un peu une version soft de Takeshita-dori à Harajuku (Tokyo). Je me suis sentie un peu à côté de la plaque avec mes fringues à la mode 'barroudeur de la montagne'; mais bon, rien à faire......Là aussi j'ai pu trouver à manger, un pancake à la ciboulette avec une omelette à l'intérieur et plein de poivre, un bun et bien sûr du thé.

Je pense avoir fait le tour de la plupart des points touristiques de la ville dans une journée. J'ai commencé par la Mare aux Lotus qui n'a rien de sensationnel en elle-même. Elle ressemble un peu à un parc d'attraction. Par contre les petites rues à l'arrière sont bien sympas. Il y a plein de petits temples, des échoppes et même quelques endroits où ils font les nooddles. Pour casser la croûte, je me suis arrêtée dans un petit truc où ils avaient des photos donc je savais que j'allais avoir une sorte de soupe avec des nouilles, par contre la garniture n'apparaissaient pas très clairement. Au final c'était des huîtres, de la viande, des boules de poissons (sorte de surimi) et de la panse de porc. Miam. Une fois le ventre plein, je suis allée sur Cijin island pour voir le plus ancien temple Matsu de la ville. J'ai aussi visité le fort et le phare pour profiter de la vue sur le port et le plus haut building de la ville. En retournant en ville je suis passée jeter un œil à la Love river. Les berges de la rivière ont été réhabilitées récemment. Il n'y a pas si longtemps elle était très polluée, maintenant il y a des poissons donc je suppose que ce n'est pas trop mal.

Je me suis vraiment bien régalée à me balader dans cette ville, en prenant le temps de profiter de chaque endroit et de regarder les gens. J'ai passé un bon moment dans le port à regarder les pêcheurs et le va et vient des bateaux (certains sont énormes).

Comment on pictures:
Entrance/exit = You HAVE to enter through the mouth of the dragon and exit through the mouth of the tiger. It's good luck! // Il FAUT entrer par la bouche du dragon et sortir par celle du tigre. Cela porte chance !


Matsu temple = the oldest in the city (17th century) // le plus vieux de la ville (17ème siècle)

Building = the design of this building is based on the Chinese character for 'tall', which read 'gao' or 'kaoh', which is in the name of this city. Clever! // le design du bâtiment est basé sur le caractères chinois pour grand 'gao' ou ‘kaoh' qui est le nom de la ville. Malin !


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

Matsu temple on Cijin islandMatsu temple on Cijin island
Matsu temple on Cijin island

the oldest in the city (17th century)
this building used to be the tallest in Taiwanthis building used to be the tallest in Taiwan
this building used to be the tallest in Taiwan

the design of this building is based on the Chinese character for 'tall', which read 'gao' or 'kaoh', which is in the name of this city. Clever!


Tot: 0.091s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 9; qc: 32; dbt: 0.0301s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb