Catching Up - Part One


Advertisement
Taiwan's flag
Asia » Taiwan » Kaohsiung
October 4th 2008
Published: October 4th 2008
Edit Blog Post

I am on my second day of this trip and had the bright idea to start this travel blog - better late than never I guess.

I got to Kaohsiung Taiwan via China Air and almost 24 hours of travel. To catch you up on the details...

Houston Intercontinental to San Francisco
San Francisco to Taipei International Airport
Taipei to Kaohsiung Airport
Kaohsiung to Fo Guang Shan (My current Location)

I am attending the World Conference for the Buddha's Light International Association (BLIA) which is the lay person's organization of the Fo Guang Shan Buddhist order.

I'll try to provide some links and details in later blogs.

The plane trips were uneventful since members of my party were spread all over the plan I sat alone the entire trip.

We arrived at Kaohsiung airport around 6:30am local time and were met by the welcome volunteers - 12-15 welcomers in full BLIA dress for the 6 of us.

We were greeted, got the obligatory group photograph (banner and all) and were whisked away by car to the Fo Guang Shan Temple and Monastery. 45 minutes later we arrived and went to a wonderful tea house
Our Welcoming CommitteeOur Welcoming CommitteeOur Welcoming Committee

We were met by almost 15 people for an arrival party of 6!
to have a little nosh and await the luggage van following behind.

I must say one of the first things that hit me about Taiwan is the humidity. I thought Houston was bad - I was not even close. The humidity here is rain forest like. I am writing this entry on day two and already I have sweated more in two days than I have in a great long while. Later you will see the pictures - I am sure I look a sight.

I can't make this entry too long since I have a pre-conference meeting I am required to attend... more on this later.

In the mean time enjoy some pictures from early on in the trip - and don't worry... next entry I will introduce everyone and finish catching you up on the trip so far.

O Mi Tuo Fo!



Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



6th October 2008

Yay!
It is wonderful that you have made a travel blog. I am so happy for you that you get to take this wonderful journey! I am excited to see all of your photos, and I can't wait for your next entry! Miss you!!

Tot: 0.085s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 5; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0559s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb