Easter---the Western way.


Advertisement
Taiwan's flag
Asia » Taiwan » Kaohsiung
April 16th 2007
Published: April 16th 2007
Edit Blog Post

The best teachers teach from the heart, not from the book. ~Author Unknown

I sometimes find myself struggling at school with the simple fact that presenting not only my students with the Western ideals, methods, and philosophies of the Western education system, but also one of my older co=worker whom i will say lately have not been the greatest support system, especially since attending college in the states, she should have an accepting and positive idea on how I want to present my lessons---In Taiwan, the schools focus so much on using the books in the classroom and following page by page, word for word, and to be honest you can see how much the emphasize this because when I want to steer away from the book, for even a short mini lesson, the students are compeltly lost, or even when I do the same material just in a different approach and not from my book my students always say "Teacher Mary, we no do. You have no CD?" BUT WE DID DO. just in a different way that you arent used too, you are still gettign the same information. I want to provide other ways to stimulate the students minds. Some of these books are a little extreme and rediculous, so I use what I have learned in college and from student teaching and all my experiences and try to apply this information to the students in a way where I think they could relate more and enjoy learning a second language rather than reading page by page in the book..and hello I THINK that was part of my job, to introuduce them the Western education!

In other news:

Here are some pictures from Easter, the kids had a lot of fun dying Easter Eggs, my one coteacher and I were worn out every single day. lots of kids , lots of eggs, lots of clean up...but they had smiles on their faces..thats all that counts ''WoW" some would say everytime the egg came out of the cup and dyed with a diff color!

67 days


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

egg dyingegg dying
egg dying

results
egg dyingegg dying
egg dying

results
5th grade5th grade
5th grade

Food project


18th April 2007

nice egg
the eggs had to be fun your grandmother would be proud
19th April 2007

i know what you mean...
That's why, even though it's the easy way out, I just follow the book now. At least I have the chance to create out of the book stuff after school.

Tot: 0.128s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0789s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb