It's all coming to an end...


Advertisement
Taiwan's flag
Asia » Taiwan » Kaohsiung
March 21st 2007
Published: March 21st 2007
Edit Blog Post

and though I have been waiting so excitedly for the day to get back on that plane and head home to America..I am now starting to get a little terrified. Like I have said once before, Taiwan changes you. You are not the same person you once came here as, and I believe for me, it has changed me for the better. I have grown to understand and accept a lot about myself as a person, I have found out what makes me happy in life , I have had opportunities in life that people wait a LIFETIME to explore! I am terrified of the fact that going back, I might find myself not knowing where I fit in. I am terrified of settling into a world that i once knew as my comfort because i wont have the opportuinites to jump back out. I have lived in a world that has been so simple, that going back to the 'faced paced' America-I will drown! i have learned how to balance, i have learned how to RELAX and STOP and BREATHE and LIVE my dreams! “Life is full of beauty. Notice it. Notice the bumble bee, the small child, and the smiling faces. Smell the rain, and feel the wind. Live your life to the fullest potential, and fight for your dreams.”anonymous
--before i was always going going going...and it all went by too fast. I have met some of those most amazing individuals-and im terrified of the fact that in a few months, i wont be able to hop on a train and see them in a matter of four hours, but instead question, when WILL I ever see them again?! I have learned that I have an amazing support system at home, and they have forever kept me smiling since the day I left! I have learned how to become a better teacher, i have learned that truly being FLEXIBLE is key. I have learned that i CAN survive in a foreign enviornment that I HAVE NO IDEA what is going on each day. I CAN adapt. I NEVER want to stop EXPLORING and LEARNING and GROWING and LOVING, LOVING everything that life has to offer and APPRECIATING!

A few THINGS i WILL miss

1. Eventhough the oil is sooooo bad for my skin--that night market food for 10NT--can't get much better 😉
2. A lu cha every afternoon after nap time
3. My kids yelling ---"M-A-R-Y T-E-A-C-H-E-R"
4. The Goblin
5. Squatters--honestly I think someone in the US should get these things over there because as a squatter porta potty life is so much cleaner!
6. Taiwan pijio--whenever i have a craving
7. The Sev----no one does the promotional give aways like they do
8. HOT POT-----ahhh thinking about it now makes my mouth water!
9. The poor men at the train station who try to read my english reservation sheet
10. THE RANDOMNESS of each day--laughing-cuz otherwise i would just cry




Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



Tot: 0.129s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0823s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb