Its definitely monsoon season!


Advertisement
Sri Lanka's flag
Asia » Sri Lanka » Western Province » Colombo
September 16th 2014
Published: September 16th 2014
Edit Blog Post

Today has been a day of firsts! I began the day by crossing the road on my own for the first time! Sounds simple but the traffic is crazy and I was previously only crossing the road by hovering near a local and waiting for them to cross! Secondly, I taught my first English lesson. I was told last night that I wouldn't be teaching today but assisting another volunteer with her lesson. However, when I turned up at the bus stop this morning the Sri Lankan co-ordinator who was taking me and another new volunteer turned to us and asked us if we had a good lesson plan ready! We were a bit shaken up but luckily we had some ideas from lessons we are teaching later in the week, but we didn't have a lot of resources with us! In the end we taught 3 different classes of children about transport. We drew pictures of buses and trains etc and taught them the vocab and then we sang the wheels on the bus and got them to run around the classroom playing transport games!

I can't believe I've only been here a week, it feels like a lot longer! I feel much more adjusted to life here than I did last week. At the weekend all the new volunteers were taken to the jungle for a weekend of getting to know each other. We were taken in mini vans that stopped during the journey next to a sharp drop on the bend of a busy road (bit scary) especially when the driver reversed us so close to the edge. When we asked him what we were doing there he kept saying we were waiting for a water bottle. It took us a while to realise he meant we were waiting for another van with all the water for the weekend. The weekend was really fun although every time we left the accommodation the heavens opened and we got drenched. I have never seen rain like this before! The rain was so heavy that it cam in under our bedroom door and flooded our room and all my clothes got soaked so I had to spend the rest of the weekend wearing my pajamas everywhere! On the Saturday we did team building games and we went white water rafting which was amazing, the views were spectacular. On the Sunday we went on a jungle treck (in the rain of course) and we went went rock sliding which looked like it was going to kill someone but when I did it it was just like going down a very fast waterslide. We also did a confidence jump off a cliff into a pool of water. It was a very good but very tiring weekend. Next weekend we think we're going to head to Hikkaduwa beach to chill out a bit.

Going to go and grab some lunch now. I'm still pretty bored of curry. One day last week I bought a plain nan bread thing at a curry shop. The man serving me kept asking me which curry I wanted with it and it took me ages to explain that I didn't want any. I then went home and put nutella on it! However western food like that is quite expensive out here so I think its back to curry for lunch today!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.074s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0427s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb