Well bowled sir!


Advertisement
Sri Lanka's flag
Asia » Sri Lanka » Western Province » Colombo
July 31st 2012
Published: July 31st 2012
Edit Blog Post

I'm delighted to greet you from Colombo, the lovely reader, as I commence five weeks of travel on the Indian subcontinent. I've long been told this part of the world can be an assault on the senses, and my introduction came barely five minutes from the airport when I was shocked to witness a dead body lying on the road. There were plenty of cops on the scene, but they weren't attending to the body as it was clearly too late. His limbs splayed at an impossible angle, the poor man's life ended after a moment of horrifying impact with a vehicle. Sri Lanka is one of the most densely populated areas on earth, and in a high speed clash between man and vehicle there can only be one outcome. The tragic scene made me realise life is precious and can be snatched away in an instant, so it's important to try and make every post a winner. The taxi ride takes less than an hour to Mount Lavinia on the coast, and this resort area is popular as it's close to Colombo, but away from the madness of traffic and pollution.

So here I am, on the road again and grateful as always for the privilege. I trust you will join me on this adventure, as I finally have the chance to shed a few insights on this intriguing part of the world. The flight from the middle of a Sydney winter was uneventful, and included a two hour stopover in KL before the final leg to Colombo. The crew on Malaysia airlines did an excellent job as always, and I've been feeling pretty good from the outset. The only shock to the system has been acclimatising to the heat and humidity, but each day it's becoming more bearable. Sri Lankans love their curry, and they love cricket so the country is in front from the outset in my estimation.

I decided to start my adventure away from the hustle and bustle of Colombo, so booked accommodation in Mount Lavinia. It is a coastal resort town only twelve kilometres south of the city, but it could be a million miles away here, as the guests are relaxing in the laid back Tropic Inn hotel just a few minutes walk from the beach. Of course there are cars and tuk tuks a plenty on the streets, but it's nothing compared to the craziness of central Colombo. They do an excellent breakfast at the hotel, the staff are friendly, and I've met an interesting and varied group of people staying in the dorm room.

One day the lifeguards had to rescue a guy who got into trouble out beyond the waves. He kept going under and waving his arms, and the situation was not looking good before they got out through the breakers to him. He was carried to the sand, and the lifeguards administered mouth to mouth and a heart massage. Before long the guy got up with a big smile, and ran back to the water with his mate. I couldn't believe my eyes, and can't for the life of me figure out whether it was a practice drill. If it was for real the swimmer certainly made a remarkable recovery, but I really have no idea. The surf can be rough so it pays to be careful, but the water is pleasantly warm and great for swimming. There aren't many tourists around, and it's mainly the locals who are enjoying the chance to frolic on the beach here in Mount Lavinia.



Of course a visit to Colombo is not complete without an obligatory trip into the heart of the city, with all it's traffic mayhem and pollution. I grew quite attached to the tuk tuk driver, and was of a mind to pimp my ride up with some bling! Anyways, the boss got me safely into the city centre within thirty minutes, and promptly disgorged me in the middle of Fort. I commenced exploring with a vengeance, and there are plenty of colonial style buildings, hundreds of small shops, and lively markets to explore. I feel I must have missed my knighthood ceremony here in Sri Lanka, as the kind and ever so polite locals have called me sir more than anywhere in the world.

The capital of Sri Lanka plays host to one of the most famous cricket teams in the world, the world's best tea, and the ubiquitous rice and curry that can be purchased for a song. The locals are polite and friendly, and I'm enjoying my introduction to life on this dynamic little island. There has not been much variation in the temperature at all since my arrival, with a daily maximum of around 30 degrees and a minimum of 26 degrees. Travellers must adapt to feeling hot and sweaty all the time, and it's amazing how quickly I've fallen into the routine of taking three or four cold showers per day. At least that way you can feel cool for around ten minutes out of every day. However, it's great to be here and the time has come to leave the capital, so I can begin exploring this little gem of a travel destination. In fact, basically all of you should be here now!


Adapt or perish, now as ever, is nature's inexorable imperative." H.G. Wells


As I continue my travels, until next time it's signing off for now

Tom

Note: Feel free to post comments on this site, or click on the subscribe button for notification of upcoming travel journals


Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement

Budget taxiBudget taxi
Budget taxi

From my tuk tuk


31st July 2012

Safe travels!
Hey, good to see you back on the road. Great post, as always and I can't wait for more! The video reminds me a little of Kathmandu, if you take away the tuk tuks and add a few young dudes holding hands to the picture. :) (that's me on a scooter by the way: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bFIoe5SSw4c). Anyway, it looks ten times more humid over there, which doesn't go really well with a big big german guy :-) Anyway, keep it up and safe travels! Marcel
31st July 2012

Great to see you blogging again!
You'll love travelling the subcontinent and environs - an amazing part of the world. Having a knowledge of cricket is so beneficial in this region for if you comment favourably about famous players of the relevant national team (i.e. Sangakkara or Tendulkar) then everyone is your friend! Looking forward to your future blogs.
31st July 2012

Your Followers have been waiting for you to reappear...
and are set to follow your travels around the Asian subcontinent. Wouldn't it have made more sense weatherwise to see the Balkans in the summer and the subcontinent in the winter...reversing your latest trips?
31st July 2012

sounds intense
Nice to read your first post! Sounds like your immediate experience with death was very intense. Hopefully, it didn't set the stage for the rest of the trip. Mount Lavinia sounded like a good start. Be careful in your travels. I look forward to reading your other blogs when you post them. -Lisa
31st July 2012

Great read .. safe travels cant wait for the next!!! www.tefljobs4u.com
1st August 2012

Awesome
Great to see you are back on the travels again. Columbo looks very different than Sofia, where I saw you last. Hope all goes well and that you continue explore all ends of this world.
1st August 2012

The best places to see in Sri Lanka (via travelblog)
I am very interested to see one of the best natural country in the World, Sri Lanka. It will be a memorable place to all of those who have been to Sri Lanka. This article helps me for more interest toward Sri Lanka trip. Regards, http://hotelsandresortsworldwide.blogspot.in/

Tot: 0.12s; Tpl: 0.028s; cc: 13; qc: 26; dbt: 0.0546s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb