Teaching at last


Advertisement
Sri Lanka's flag
Asia » Sri Lanka » Western Province » Colombo
November 21st 2006
Published: November 21st 2006
Edit Blog Post

Unfortunately I was delayed a week from starting at the resource centre, due to falling victim to a scam and numerous trips to Colombo to ensure I got my money back. The police were very supportive (even refusing a bribe to drop my case) and they all know me up there now.

I finally got to visit the centre last Friday and attended the foundation laying ceremony for the building of a new two storey facility last Sunday. It was blessed by a couple of monks and attended by the founder Dr Jayasena and his wife (his daughter is a doctor currently working in Hartlepool!). I’ve discovered they have lots of problems with the PCs used for computer studies due to the humidity, sea-salt and the sheer age of this rag-bag of donated machines. I’m going with the frustrated computer studies teacher to Kandy shopping at the weekend. The English teaching is also a bit dower, but I have to be tactful. I was allowed to take-over one lesson but I would like to run extra sessions if there is demand.

The pre-school was beyond our legal decibel limit yesterday as the rain forced both classes to combine, but it was fun this morning watching them rehearse for the end of term concert. Sadly one little girl was too scared by the white man to stay in the room, but the other kids were curious and friendly. They seem to struggle with their right and left, despite numerous attempts at the ‘hokey-kokey’. The tapping of kids with rulers by the teachers is a bit disconcerting when you come from a country paralysed by human rights but it seems to be accepted by all.

I’m staying in a bungalow in the ‘one-road’ surfer resort of Hikkaduwa just up the coast from Galle. The traffic noise is almost ever-present but I can catch the bus to work and I trust the people at the hotel. At least I have breakfast looking on to the beach and I can have a swim in the sea after work.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.054s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0356s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb