Madam, you are lucky, lucky, lucky!


Advertisement
Sri Lanka's flag
Asia » Sri Lanka » Central Province » Sigiriya
December 15th 2013
Published: December 16th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Although you'd have thought that the rain would've tipped me off, it was only thanks to the happy frogs that I realised that it was the rainy season. You might wonder that I hadn't figured this out before I came, however Sri Lanka despite its small size, has different rainy seasons at different times depending on where you are, and I thought that where I going, it was the dry time. It was only at the last minute I decided to change my itinerary, at the insistence of Sri Lankan work colleague. "You must go to Dambulla and Sigiriya, they are some of the most beautiful sights in our country," she claimed.

I had arrived in Sri Lanka the night before and stayed in Negombo, a very small coastal fishing village, chosen only for its proximity to the airport. It was midnight in Sri Lanka, and 5.30 am in Sydney so I had been awake for 24 hours. Plus, after 18 hours of travelling I was exhausted. This was a good thing because as just as I falling asleep I was jolted awake by a loud bang. This happened a couple of more times before I realised that it was the sound of coconuts falling on the roof.

Most of what I'd read about Negombo described the beach as polluted and the town fairly pedestrian, so the next morning, I was pleasantly surprised by the beautiful strip of golden sand and an inviting looking sea. This can only be good news for the beaches further south. However, I wasn't sticking around, I was off to the ancient cities!

I had arranged a driver, who picked me up from the airport, and was then with me for the next few days. I think his name is Camilis but after asking him three times I couldn't bear to ask again. He just calls me Madam. While I thought he was simply driving me to my destination, he had other ideas, and I ended up with an action packed agenda.

We stopped off at all sorts of places to look at interesting views, and see local points of interest. We went to a pineapple field and he showed me mangos, papayas, jackfruit, then we sat amongst the fields and I ate pineapple with chilli and salt. Delicious. We also stopped at rice fields, and met a man picking plants for medicine. "It is for heart attack, and liver problems. Also good for stomach." It sounds like a real miracle drug, but all the same I'd like an ambulance in the case of heart attack thanks very much.

It was hot and sunny when I left Negombo, and because I thought it was the dry season, I was surprised to find ourselves driving into heavy rain. "Madam, it is raining in Dambulla," Camilis warned me. This was not good news.

But then the heavy rain eased away and sky cleared just as I arrived in Dambulla. I didn't have an umbrella or a coat, and I needed to walk up the steep steps to view the ancient temples. "Oh Madam, you are lucky, lucky, lucky," said Camilis as we arrived and the rain stopped. But he gave me an umbrella just in case.

Dambulla is famous for its Cave Temples, sitting high above the road, requiring a short hike up to the temple complex. At the base sits the enormous Golden Temple. Unlike the ancient Cave Terraces, which according to my guidebook date from around the 1st century, the Golden Temple was only built in around 2000. It was certainly a hot walk up to the Cave Temple, but I missed all the rain. Lucky indeed!

The Temples are amazing. Beautifully painted walls and ceilings and filled with Buddhas of all shapes and sizes. On my way in I was asked if I would like a guide, which I declined. "But Madam there are more than 150 Buddhas!". Most definitely not in that case. What a long process of getting to know each of them. However it is definitely a spectacular spot and worth the detour.

After visiting the Golden Temple at the bottom, Camilis took me to my accommodation in Sigiriya, a cute little guesthouse in the middle of fields. My room was surrounded by gardens, resident cats and dogs, including a cute little black and white kitten, named "Kitty".

My day wasn't over by a long shot. Camilis suggested an elephant tour, which sounded like fun to me. First up I sat in the cage atop of the elephant, but after not too long it was suggested that I sit astride the elephant's neck. Actually it didn't seem optional, so somewhat nervously I climbed out of my secure cage and onto his neck. Just as I was getting used to this, I was given a couple of bunches of bananas and before I knew what was happening, the elephant's trunk was snuffling around my arms and hands looking for food! He had clearly done this before.

Camilis had one final activity for us, back at the guesthouse he took me off on a walk around the little rural laneways and fields towards a little lake. We clambered up some rocks and sat admiring the views, watching the birds, a local fisherman, some wild pheasants, and enjoying the serenity. Camilis told me that there are lots of wild elephants in the area, and pointed out some guardhouses where people slept to make sure their rice fields are not ruined by wild elephants. Think of the mess that would make.....And my mother thinks sheep getting in the garden is bad!

I was keen for an early night. It had been a big day, and tomorrow I was climbing Sigiriya Rock, a huge rock which is an important historic site built by a former King, with beautiful fresco paintings 1600 years old. A 7.30 am start meant I would miss the heat and the crowds, and I was still tired from the travelling. At the hotel there was an almighty chorus of something I couldn't quite figure out. I asked the friendly man at my hotel who told me, "It is frogs Madam. They are happy it is the rainy season." So that is how I learned it was the rainy season.

My first night in Sri Lanka I went to sleep with the sound of falling coconuts. The second night I slept to the very loud noise of happy frogs. Heaven knows what the third night might bring!


Additional photos below
Photos: 53, Displayed: 26


Advertisement



16th December 2013

Same Same but Different
Thanks for making me laugh again Rachel - Sheep in garden/Elephants in crop...haha!! Looks lovely
17th December 2013

I remember as a kid my mother getting very upset if Dad forgot to shut the gate and the sheep ate the roses!
16th December 2013
Painted roof in the temple

Good guide!
I rarely like having a guide, but it sounds as if you got a gem. How great that he took you to wonderful places you'd not even planned on seeing! Looking forward to your next installment...
17th December 2013
Painted roof in the temple

Guides
I know what you mean - I hadn't planned on having one at all! However it's going well, and he is staying on for a couple more days.
16th December 2013

Lucky indeed
Lovely to get your first impressions and first photos. I have largely forgotten where we went in Sri Lanka, so it's nice to get your stories. I've been to Sigirya and the temple with the Buddhas sounds familiar.... nice to rediscover through your eyes. I really loved my trip there. 4 more days of work for me, then I leave for Nepal on Sat. Yay!
17th December 2013

I have been thinking of you here and wondering where you travelled to. I definitely think I am covering some of the same ground. Have fun in Nepal. You will have to revive your travelblog account, I will look forward to reading about your trip!
16th December 2013

You were born with black hairy ears. Luckily the hair dropped off after a few weeks so you are indeed "Madam, you are lucky, lucky, lucky". Looks like you are having a very informative time, and the scenery is very pretty. We are off to Wanganui to day to take Richard out for lunch which will be great and also to the beach to get the metre board repaired after a lightening strike. Looking forward to the next blog. Love Jackie
17th December 2013

Hairy ears
Well thank heavens that hair all dropped off! The scenery is indeed spectacular. I am in the hill country for another week or so, so more beautiful scenery to come. Say hello to Richard for me.
16th December 2013
I declined the full "shower" experience

Elephant Jockey
Rach - looks like elephant riding comes naturally to you. What command did you use to get him/her to create that impressive water feature?
17th December 2013
I declined the full "shower" experience

Elephant jockey
I know you want to know this Cam but I'm not sure you can be trusted!
17th December 2013

The luck of a traveler
On our first sabbatical we hit Vietnam during the rainy season which made the trip an experience and interest. Some days not to my liking but a traveler rolls with it. I'm glad the rain stopped at the appropriate times. I love sleeping with the frogs croaking. Reminds me of our time in Bali.
17th December 2013

Rain
I have been extremely lucky, as it hasn't rained on me at all. I am in the hill country for the next few days and then heading to the beaches, where cross fingers, it is not the rainy season and my good luck continues. The sound of the frogs is really fabulous!
17th December 2013

Third night...
do snakes make any sounds? Just kidding...I hope there aren't any snakes in Sri Lanka.
17th December 2013

Cobras!
I have the green snake warning from you in mind! Actually my driver thought he was very funny as he made a joke about cobras and then watched me jump ten feet. So far so good...snake free!
17th December 2013
Karma karma karma karma karma chameleon....

haha, I do that in my head every single time I hear 'chameleon' :)
17th December 2013
Karma karma karma karma karma chameleon....

I couldn't resist!
17th December 2013

frogs=favourite snake food :/
'Chamilis' sounds lovely, I think you scored well there. Really enjoyed this post, and looking forward to the next! Safe travels x
17th December 2013

Thank you - it is going very well so far and I am loving it. Beautiful country!
17th December 2013
P1090404

Travelling in style
Are those balloons tied to the back of the cage? Travelling in style on the party elephant!
17th December 2013
P1090404

You are right! I hadn't noticed them before. Party time indeed!
17th December 2013
Feeding him bananas

Now whose smiling
Great to see you having an adventure during your Christmas break Rachael. May the rain gods smile on you...the elephant certainly is!
17th December 2013
Feeding him bananas

He's only smiling because I had the bananas......but so far the rain gods are indeed smiling on me. Hopefully it will stay that way!
19th December 2013

I like your photos
An interesting blog and some great photos, gives me some ideas where to visit next, your driver sounds good
21st December 2013

I would definitely recommend Sri Lanka as a place to visit!

Tot: 0.073s; Tpl: 0.02s; cc: 19; qc: 30; dbt: 0.0382s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb