Jan 2011 Week 1


Advertisement
South Korea's flag
Asia » South Korea
January 7th 2011
Published: January 8th 2011
Edit Blog Post

This has been a week of more new beginnings. I have now discovered some new places as options to live. These are much closer to Yongsan Garrison US Army Military Base. This also was a week of discovering some new friends. I hope you enjoy my journey journal of the week. I challenge you to take some time to meet someone new and get to know them in your coming week ahead.

HIGHLIGHTS FOR THE WEEK-The beginning of the week started with meeting Mr. Kim and Ms. Lim. They represented Asian Tigers Korea (relocation company representing us). Mr. Kim was so helpful on our journey, we began solo and then Ms. Lim joined us. He took me to various locations for housing opportunities. We visited Fraiser Suites, Oakwood, 2-Villa's, and Park Tower. In a couple of locations I had the opportunity to see up close and personal what hoarding looks like. Two of the properties shown had Koreans currently residing in them. This took me back to those times of the past seeing how my grandfather lived in Mesa, CO. Not sure how one functions in such disarray. I would go absolutely nuts. The Park Tower apt is on the 35th Floor with a spectacular view of the Hangang River. My husband and I will be revisiting that location today. This property happens to be one of the hoarding situations. Oh my goodness, I am so hopeful he can see the potential beyond the clutter.

SOLO EVENING ADVENTURE-One evening, my husband had a late business meeting and I decided to venture out on my own into the dark of the cold night. I found myself walking through Insa-dong up to Jongno Tower, ventured back near Frasier Suites and then back to Somerset Palace. I decided to entertain myself with a Cosmopolitan and Tiramasu (yummy) as my delectable dinner at The Kitchen, Salvatore & Bar. While eating and sipping my martini I began studying Korean. Soon two ladies at the bar noticed me and motioned for me to come over. They asked, "Are you an American". I responded, 'yes' and they then asked if I would like to join them. So of course I relocated myself, drink and my desert to the bar next to them. Why not, what did I have to loose. As we began visiting one of the ladies was raised in London, relocated to Houston and now will be working here as a project manager for cost estimating for Bechtel. The other woman also works for the same company and has been in Korea for 4 months now. We learned alot about each other from that visit and are planning to meet this coming week for dinner. I plan to take them to an ethnic Korean resturaunt to try something new. We will see if we all choose to show up.

RELATIONSHIPS-For all of those who are reading this take note, Long-term relationships are never easy. It takes dedication, open communication and respect for self and others. As we travel various roads in building relationships we encounter hills of challenges, amazing highes when reaching the summit, frustration when loosing control on the downward slope and varied depths of humility as we are reach the bottom. What truly counts is that we have learned something of value as we encounter this journey of developing and maintaining long-lasting relationships with all of those we come to adore and admire.

NEW FRIENDS-I had the pleasure of meeting two ladies above earlier in the week at The Kitchen, Salvatore & Bar.
The next day I was honored to meet Monique, Pam and Louise. They took me on an all day shopping adventure in Namdaemun Market. Louise and Monique shared their favorite shopping location and vendors to work with. Gate 8 or 9 entries lead you to the Orange Alpha Building. This building is filled with all types of items. I will need to revisit with them again to gain my sense of direction as to the key vendors to work with. One of my all time favorite locations was the floral section. I must say I have never seen so many fresh and beautiful flowers in my life. There is no way to describe the depth of their beauty and variety.

Monique has been in Seoul for over 2 years, she and her husband live on the Yongsan Garrison military base. They have a bulldog that is so cute! Currently, they are having a home built in Austin, TX and will be leaving here in June. Monique has amazing gifts and talents when it comes to creativity, cooking and vendor relationships.

Pam is from Canada and has been in Seoul for less than a year. She and her husband live off base and are military as well. She is fluent in Korean and is so good at bargaining with Koreans. Her sense of peace and humor are fun! Pam has a 3lb Poodle whose name is Mojo. I am excited to meet Mojo.

Louise is also from Canada and has been in Seoul for less than year as well. She and her husband travel extensively abroad. Louise knows at least 5 different languages. Some of her great gifts are cooking, entertaining and her sense of adventure. She was a wonderful tour guide as well. Louise to has a wonderful sense of humor. I am planning to join AFSC for another shopping adventure next week to Yongdeungpo Time Square Mall.
I am joining Pam and Monique in organizing a girls night of fun hosted at Pam's house. This will be an opportunity to purchase New Year accessories (jewelry made by Monique). This will be a wonderful opportunity for me to meet some more great military wives.

KOREAN FRIENDS- I have really enjoyed trying to communicate with some very special friends.
One is Ms. Bong. She works at the Jacobs Cafe downstairs. I visit her everyday. She has a never ending smile that has so welcomed us to Korea. This lady holds a special place in both my husband and I's heart. We have exchanged gifts. She gave me a beautiful bookmark that I cherish.

Another great friend is our housekeeper, Ms.Shin Yeong Sook. She is pushing me to learn Korean. Each time I see her she provides me with at least 5 new words to study. This is so helpful. Ms Shin is very persistent now and so desires for me to understand. My mind is striving to comprehend and retain. She inspires me to learn while she is cleaning.

My husband and I had the pleasure of eating dinner with Mr & Mrs. Song. In Korea the women are called by their maiden name out of respect. So she prefers to be called Ms. Kim. What a lovely couple. Their 27 year old daughter is fluent in Korean and English. She teaches English to Highschool students. We are excited to meet her in the future. They provided us with welcoming gifts. We received a beautiful envelope opener (porcelean decorated handle with wooden stem) and I was gifted a silk handmade clutch handbag. The decorated stitching was all done by hand. The picture represented goodluck, happiness etc. It is so pretty. She speaks very little English and he husband speaks English pretty well. We had a wonderful dinner with them. We took them to Gatlins, which is a German resturaunt. They seemed to enjoy the food and wine. They also like to golf so we will join them once it warms up. Mr & Mrs. Song have been together the same amount of time we have been and they married after knowing each other 3 months.

It amazes me how there are common threads between all of us, no matter where we may be from.

Advertisement



8th January 2011

Thanks!!
I was so hoping that you would do something like this. To experience a foreign country for more than just a week or two is such a wonderful opportunity. You are a perfect person to experience this from vicariously. Take care. Love you both. Susan
17th March 2011

Blog Response
Hi Susan, thank you for traveling with me in my journal postings. This is an amazing time that will be cherished. There is so much more to learn and do. Definitely a time for self-discovery and challenges. The Korean culture is wonderful. Koreans have a spirit of love and compassion that is beyond what I have ever experienced. You do have to have the courage to reach out and embrace them in order to have the benefit of getting to know them. Some foreigners miss that opportunity as they are not open to getting to know the Korean people. This is so sad to me. How are you and your family doing? I think of you often. Hugs, blessings and love, me

Tot: 0.204s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 8; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0684s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb