Seoul City


Advertisement
South Korea's flag
Asia » South Korea » Seoul
September 20th 2014
Published: September 30th 2014
Edit Blog Post

What were your impressions before arriving Seoul, Korea? My thoughts were clean, civilised, organised and polite city, similar to Tokyo, Japan. It was true, as I was exiting Icheon airports could feel it and sense the environment. Could not believe the significant difference between cities that are close ie Shanghai and Seoul.

It was a business trip for 4 days but had the opportunities to see bit of the city.

Being in a taxi for 1.5 hr to hotel, I had a good chat with the driver, although his English was very limited but understandable. It seemed that Korean don't like Japanese but they like Chinese! He wouldn't explain why!

Seoul city was clean but very commercial feel. Lots of shopping malls and food places. I didn't have the feeling of historical, heritage or culture as much. Food they eat are different but rice is also their common food.

Every now and then I witness people spitting but into the garden and didn't make the awful sound like Chinese people. There were smoking designated areas so people can't smoke everywhere. I asked one of the locals, he said because some people hate others people smoking everywhere. Fair point.

One thing that captured my attention most was the mobile phone they using. 98% of Korean were using Samsung, when I spotted someone using Iphone, most likely he/she is a foreign or a young Korean person. They were proud and supporting their own country products. I agree!

Food? I had many kimchi in soup, kimchi with rice and just kimchi. Korea BBQ was fantastic, the flavor from one restaurant to another was different but as tasteful. I learned that the meat we just cooked in the BBQ is best to eat with lettuce or similar leaves. I wrapped the meat in a lettuce with some salad or onion, dip in a sauce and eat, just git to be careful with the drippings when biting though. I really enjoyed hands on cooking and eating at the same time in the public. I always thought the best dumplings should be from China but it's not. In Seoul, I had some very tasty dumpling, the skin was thin and soft, the filling was fresh and tasty, I could just keep eating if I didn't order noodles as main course. It was better than the ones u had in China for sure.



I still think Seoul city is in between Shanghai and Tokyo in terms of culture and environment. But the people both men and women are most handsome and pretty in Seoul. Very attractive 😊


Additional photos below
Photos: 26, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



Tot: 0.218s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 10; qc: 45; dbt: 0.1736s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb