Imo, Slither, and Tickles


Advertisement
South Korea's flag
Asia » South Korea » Seoul
June 29th 2006
Published: June 29th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Note: Photos have been deleted from this page because: 1) they didn't show up to begin with, and 2) they have images of my children, which I would rather not show to the public.

Sorry I haven't written in so long! It's been a bit busy here, and I forget 1) to take pictures, and 2) to upload them onto the computer. I am finally getting around to it. Today's journal will be short. I've been helping out at an English institute here in Korea that's for children. It's been a great experience, but very time consuming. I'm making some new friends, but unfortunately, it's only for a short time and then we'll return to the U.S. on July 30th. Of course, we're looking forward to getting back to the States soon too. We miss everyone a lot...that honeymoon phase is wearing off as the monsoon season continues. Boy, is it humid here right now!

Yesterday I ate Vietnamese food. It's always fun to try out foreign food in a new country. Of course, it was Koreanized Vietnamese food. They suggested some mild food that's really popular with most Koreans, and then they warned me about the "Hard Core" Vietnamese food. Well, anyone who knows my eating habits knows I only eat "hard core" foods at authentic restaurants. What they meant by hard core is that the flavors would be very authentic and quite strong. Well, they were, and I loved the soup I ate. Although there have been times when I've regretted my choice, I still always ask, "Suggest something that native people prefer, not the food that's popular with Americans/Koreans (foreigners)."

Ok, to the pictures. The first few pictures are of the kids at Imo's (이모) house. Imo (pronounced EE-MO) is Halmoni's younger sister. She came to visit one day, and before she left, she asked me to pack up and get ready to visit her house with the kids. I often seem to get into situations where I am suddenly thrown in a direction I didn't anticipate because of not paying attention to the Korean happening around me. Sometimes I tune out what people are saying because I've just had enough Korean practice and need a brain break. In the meantime, I've missed important information about things about to happen. This is one case. Another misunderstanding I had was that she wanted us to stay overnight at her house. Well, we went to her house, played, ate and went to the park. After two wet pants (both Sabyl and Devinn wet their pants while there), and I had finally figured out that we were supposed to stay the night, I suggested that we go home and maybe do it again when they're a bit older. The house was too nice and not child proofed well enough. Anyway, she enjoyed our stay, and we enjoyed visiting with her. So, the pictures are of the kids playing at the playground near Imo's home.

Next are pictures of our newest friend "Slither". He is a snail, or I should say "was" a snail. He was a member of our family, eating carrots, and probably too much spinach, until one day I found him floating in the small amount of water I provided for moisture in his jar. After doing much research, I followed the directions on the internet for caring for snails. Unfortunately, this snail was not meant to make it back to the U.S. as we had planned. Maybe that greedy little snail ate himself to death... Poor guy/thing...actually, snails are hermaphrodites (is that right?); they have both male and female reproductive organs. So much you wanted to know, right?

Ok, next is a picture of Devinn tickling HalAboji. It doesn't look like it from the picture, but HalAboji is having a ball playing with him. Halmoni and HalAboji are enjoying every moment with their little twinsters.

That's all for this time. I'll write more when I have more to say.

Julie

Advertisement



10th July 2006

Same problem!
I have the same problem in Turkish - I zone out sometimes because my brain is too tired to listen, and then stuff is planned and I am totally out of the loop. Then nobody understands why I am so clueless!

Tot: 0.056s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0348s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb