Welcome to Korea!


Advertisement
South Korea's flag
Asia » South Korea » Seoul
September 18th 2011
Published: September 18th 2011
Edit Blog Post

I've never been so happy to be off a plane! I originally had thought that the ride from Seattle to Seoul would be 13 hours, but then they announced that it was "only" 11 1/2 hours. The trip definitely brought back memories of going back and forth to Germany and all those 10 hour flights. I'm glad that I don't have to do that again for awhile. If I was leaving in only two weeks then I am not sure I could do it again so soon.

I breezed through the customs checkpoint and got my luggage quickly. I spotted my friend right away so that was really nice. We got in the car and drove to his house and dropped his wife and son off then went to where I am staying, which is at his mom's house. It is a nice little house in the center of Seoul, and a quick walk to my friends house. It is also close to the palace in Seoul, so I'm excited about checking that out soon.

I forgot my camera last night when we went and walked around the area that is by where I am staying, but I will probably walk around in the daylight and take some pictures and post them soon. Thankfully I have internet where I am staying, so it will be easy to update more often.

We did go to this exhibit place last night where it tells the history of the person who made up the current Hangeul system (Korean writing), and I want to check that out more thoroughly soon, but I did get a piece of paper where I wrote my name in Korean on, and they stuck on on the wall, and on I got to take with me, which is the picture posted in this blog.

The funniest thing to me though was that I know I can't get completely homesick, because close to where I am there are: 2 Starbucks, a Dunkin Donuts (don't even have those in Salem anymore), a Baskin Robbins Ice Cream, a Dominos Pizza and Popeyes. I'd be interested to see what different things are on the menu from the US.



Advertisement



20th September 2011

Yay!
I\'m glad to see you made it there safe and that you\'ve got some creature comforts from home nearby too! I\'ll be excited to watch your journey through this blog and I hope you have the time of you life! Be safe Brit and keep posting!

Tot: 0.053s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.034s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb